Advise on new dual battery setup 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Post subject: Advise on new dual battery setup
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

NSW, Australia

Hey guys, sorry been an eventful few months.... Got the Gq, 93 tb42e, 5 speed lsd, airbags, power everything... Including a dual battery system.
Currently its running an isolator that seems to be triggered just before start and both battery's are reading 14.4v while running engine and around 13 on idle on main. For some reason ( Im new to this) the aux battery only reads 2-3v when the isolator is off. I want to be able to either run the aux battery at 13 odd all the time, or atleast on when accessory is on. If I just ran the isolator trigger to the accessory feed, will this fix my low aux battery voltage on accessory? If so, whats the downfalls? Ive read up as much as I can on the net and have read about voltage sensitive relays, would this be a better idea as I can get one off the net ( Narva) for around $50 new. The isolator I have now is a cylinder shape, + feed in and out, a little earth and I take it to be the trigger bolted to the front.
advise would be appreciated as the batteries cost me $400+ ( taken from mq before scrapping). Maybe Id like to run a fridge in the future, but mainly the aux system would power 2 amps and maybe some other crap with a lighter socket in the back.
Cheers lads and Ill get some pictures up soon

Post subject: Re: Advise on new dual battery setup
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:19 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: BF II Gas Ute

ACT, Australia

Hi,

You may have a bad earth connection, or a dead battery. Or maybe even the isolater, so test the battery first. The battery that has 3 volts is the one that I mean. Charge it up with a seperate charger and see what you get. If it takes a good charge and will run a load then there is an earth or isolater problem. Dont let it stay flat, as this will ruin it. Post back what you find.