Fordmods Logo

Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hi guys.
Have looked hard but fail to find any information on how to hook up the auto gear box to the EL ECU when fitted to a EA.

If you have done this or have first hand knowledge I'd like to hear from you.
Please no guesses or "bob said he..." I don't care what bob did. Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:39 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:09 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yep.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Are you talking 3 speed auto or 4 speed?

You are also asking in your heading AU to EL ECU swap. 2 totally different beasts.

EA had a seperate Comp control to the ECU for the gearbox.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Sorry I'm bloody dyslexic.

Ea to EL ecu!! Thanks for spotting that.
Want to hook the 4 speed auto to the ecu.

Seems to make sense.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

And if I just get the j3 programmed as a Manuel wha will
Make it change gears?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:22 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

so your wanting to put a 4sp box in a EA that had a 3sp box using a EL ecu that right?


Quote:
And if I just get the j3 programmed as a Manuel wha will
Make it change gears?


NO cannot get it dun that way
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:26 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I shall reiterate. :)
Car as is:
4 speed auto. Stock EA.

Intended mod:
Add EL ecu. With J3

Question: how to connect ecu to gear box so the ecu can control the shifts.

I heard there was additional wiring?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Barnfind-EA wrote:
I shall reiterate. :)
Car as is:
4 speed auto. Stock EA.

Intended mod:
Add EL ecu. With J3

Question: how to connect ecu to gear box so the ecu can control the shifts.

I heard there was additional wiring?



i don't know about fitting the EL ecu other than it wont work due to smartlock, which the EA don't have [or are you having that removed via J3? ] .. i presume its a 1990 EA? early EA's fitted with the 4sp auto had seperate wiring/controller for gearbox so isn't controlled thru ECU ... hence if changing to later ECU will need to change wiring to suit ECU you will be fitting ie wiring added to go from ecu to gearbox [my understanding]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yep. Smartlock disabled in J3.
Additional wiring yes. But what is it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:40 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

yes!

the connections to the ecu i cannot help you with, you will need to search that out yourself sorry - try a search in the auto elec forum or ask if anyone has the wiring pics .. the auto wiring goes to the ecu instead of the controller

can the J3 override the ecu so you can use the original auto controller??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:52 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I hope the original controller will work. Or I will be unhappy.
I dont know how someone can sell something but also say "I have no idea how it hooks up"

Grrrrr!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:04 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:33 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

Barnfind-EA wrote:
Yep. Smartlock disabled in J3.
Additional wiring yes. But what is it?


the best way to go here is get a eb2 or ed engine to ecu and trans loom..
this way the engine loom will match up to the engine and already has the wires to the ecu for the auto trans..

otherwise just leave the separate tcm to control the auto
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au to EL ecu swap. Auto Gear box control for J3 chip
Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
Barnfind-EA wrote:
Yep. Smartlock disabled in J3.
Additional wiring yes. But what is it?


the best way to go here is get a eb2 or ed engine to ecu and trans loom..
this way the engine loom will match up to the engine and already has the wires to the ecu for the auto trans..

otherwise just leave the separate tcm to control the auto

+1
Engine/trans loom isnt hard to switch out either

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:30 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names