Fordmods Logo

climate control display problem or not ? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 450

Joined: 24th Jan 2009

Ride: BF wagon

Location: western sydney
NSW, Australia

I had the same issue with my old Climate control unit. There is a fix. You get baking paper and a hot iron- you then heat across where the ribbon touches the back of the LCD display (in time it becomes unstuck). Ill see if i can dig up the thread from AFF.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 450

Joined: 24th Jan 2009

Ride: BF wagon

Location: western sydney
NSW, Australia

Here tis:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Monty
Missing AU Fairmont/ Ghia Climate control digital segments? It's an easy fix!!!

1.0 Tools Required;
1.1 Phillips head and flat blade screw drivers
1.2 Cloths iron
1.3 Baking paper

2.0 Remove climate control unit from dash;
2.1 Removing clock surround, allowing access to retaining screw, remove screw,
2.2 Pull unit forward and to the left, unplugging 1 air sensor and 2 electrical plugs.
2.3 Unit should now slide right out

3.0 Dis-assemble control unit;
3.1 Depress and pull plastic retaining legs where appropriate
3.2 Slide unit out rear of casing.

4.0 Re-attach control ribbon
4.1 Pre-heat iron to sub steam temperature
4.2 Clean/ trim ribbon and contacts if required (do not use solvent as will destroy ribbon/ adherence)
4.3 Re-align ribbon with circuit contacts
4.4 Place baking paper on top or ribbon to stop ribbon melting onto iron
4.5 With moderate pressure, press iron onto ribbon and contacts
4.6 Check contacts/ test in car before refitting into casing.

5.0 Re-assemble in reverse order

**This worked for me, ONLY to restore the display functions thou..hope it helps.!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 75

Posts: 63

Joined: 26th Sep 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 98 AU Fairmont S/W

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Thanks for that Monty, however I do have a reservation in that if I try this repair and it stuffs up, and I need to ask for a replacement unit the company that offers replacement display units may not accept it if they decide it has been damaged by me.

 

_________________

So many women - so little time

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:55 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 86

Joined: 6th Feb 2011

Ride: AUII wagon 4.0L, BA 4.0L hack

Location: Flinders View
QLD, Australia

I might be wrong here but I have found that a problem with LCD displays is that they dont tolerate static electricity. Static build up happens every time you get in and out of your car, move and fidget sitting on a car seat, just a thought as I had a big static electricity problem in my VX SS Bongadore.

 

_________________

My cars don't advertise for Unit, Metal Mulisha, Loosekid Industries, Inverted, Famous stars & straps crap, R.M. Williams, Fusion, DC Shoes or the Transformers.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:37 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 75

Posts: 63

Joined: 26th Sep 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 98 AU Fairmont S/W

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Mick you may well have a point there. Its been faultless for 6 weeks now, which is the exact time I have parted with a certain lady friend who certainly generated a lot of electricity.

Maybe I'm destined to stay single if I want a working display..

 

_________________

So many women - so little time

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 86

Joined: 6th Feb 2011

Ride: AUII wagon 4.0L, BA 4.0L hack

Location: Flinders View
QLD, Australia

Andrew S wrote:
Mick you may well have a point there. Its been faultless for 6 weeks now, which is the exact time I have parted with a certain lady friend who certainly generated a lot of electricity.

Maybe I'm destined to stay single if I want a working display..

hmmm...maybe a bit extreme having to make love to your hand just to have a working display lol hope you have fixed your problem

 

_________________

My cars don't advertise for Unit, Metal Mulisha, Loosekid Industries, Inverted, Famous stars & straps crap, R.M. Williams, Fusion, DC Shoes or the Transformers.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: climate control display problem or not ?
Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:13 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 75

Posts: 63

Joined: 26th Sep 2012

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 98 AU Fairmont S/W

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

I wouldn't need to do that in the car Mick, I do shower twice a day..

 

_________________

So many women - so little time

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:40 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names