Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: Help Please - EF Fairmont
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:20 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

TAS, Australia

G'day all,

Got a suspected TPS problem here, just after some straight forward advice if possible, I have an issue with the car idling really high and not changing into fourth (limp home mode ???).

It's an EF Fairmont Auto

Wasn't an issue till I started playing with things, I removed the throttle body and gave it a good clean, cleaned the ISC and then reconnected everything.

Started up the car and now its revving like crazy gets upto 3k rpm in idle, and wont hit fourth, also when changing into gear it clunks really bad and the whole car shudders.

I'm suspecting I somehow f**k the TPS which is a pain in the a**, even though im having the current problem god damn throttle response has improved since cleaning the throttle body.

Anyway what I have done to try fix the problem was reset the ECU and all that jazz, I have tried driving around to see if the ECU just needs to relearn the gear changes now the car is running smoother but nothing. I have rest the base idle by disconnecting the ISC and setting the base idle to around 550rpm then reconnect ISC but no luck.

I also removed the TPS again and then reconnected this time the RPM increase wasnt as sudden, I started the car and it seemed fine for a second or two then the revs just shot up again. I have checked throttle cable and nothing wrong there.

Please help..

EDIT:

Okay after reading some info courtesy of google search i see that I can grab my multimeter and test the TPS, but how do i adjust the voltage if incorrect ?

EDIT: