Fordmods Logo

Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1323

Joined: 12th Nov 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 02 xls ute 347

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Would a sports cluster with the extra oil pressure and batterie amp gauge work from an au xr8,Fairlane, fairmont into my 02 xls v8 ? Should I have spare plugs in my loom that will plug I to it ? I did it on my ea Alcon and every thing just plugged in and worked

 

_________________

02 series 3 AU marline ute 5speed 347 stroker

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:53 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

should work

will need to change the oil pressure switch for a oil pressure sender

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 843

Joined: 20th Feb 2010

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Elizibif Norf (Local Spelling!!)
SA, Australia

It will work, but you need to use a AU1 cluster if yours is and AU1 or AU2/3 for 2/3.
There is some re wiring to be done though as it's not plug and play.
More info in THIS AFF thread for S2/3 cluster upgrade. Not sure if it's the same for AU1 though.

 

_________________

dc_todd wrote:
Cheap pads squeal like cheap hookers, and you can take that to the bank.


Au Fairmont Ghia
My (Old) 95 EF Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Not sure on the V8 but on the 6cyl series II/III, the oil gauge was basicly an idiot light, they ran off the oil switch, not a sender. If you fit a sender they won't work. As I said, I know this is definate for a 4.0L but not sure on the 5.0L.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

SWC wrote:
Not sure on the V8 but on the 6cyl series II/III, the oil gauge was basicly an idiot light, they ran off the oil switch, not a sender. If you fit a sender they won't work. As I said, I know this is definate for a 4.0L but not sure on the 5.0L.


huh??? how does fitting a sender make it not work??? me confused?


damnit i forgot about the smartlock/smartshield
with this make the 99 au1's where smartshield

so basically if you have a smartlock car get a smartlock cluster
and same goes for smartshield

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1323

Joined: 12th Nov 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 02 xls ute 347

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Mines a series 3 I didn't think it would have mattered what series it was, I remember when I did my ea Gli to a spack cluster all the plugs where there and evey thing worked straight swap maybe if this is too much mucking around ill just put a seperate oil pressure gauge in at least I don't have to pull te dash apart then

 

_________________

02 series 3 AU marline ute 5speed 347 stroker

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

You need a S1 cluster for a S1 and S2/S3 for a S3.
SWC is 100% correct about the oil gauges. Both the same with the 5.0 and 4.0.
It will fit and work but you need to add some wiring into the low series wiring for the right blinker and the dash lighting to work.
Its not hard but its not 100% plug and play.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

interesting about the blinker and dash lighting

cheers :)

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Will it work ?Au sports cluster in standard falcon
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1323

Joined: 12th Nov 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 02 xls ute 347

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Aite cheers man is there any post floating around With how to do it ?

 

_________________

02 series 3 AU marline ute 5speed 347 stroker

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names