Fordmods Logo

wiring loom from ghia to futura EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 11

Joined: 13th Feb 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef futura

Location: wagga wagga
NSW, Australia

i want to change my futura dash wiring loom to one out of ghia, does anyone have any advice , tips or warnings about this?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 8:08 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2750

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

someone has done it ... its mentioned somewhere??


the only 'name' referance etc i can think of right now is TimmyA .... wether he can help or wants :roll: :roll: :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 88

Joined: 30th Aug 2012

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF11 Gli , EF Mont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I havent done the futura to fairmont model, but I have pulled out a Nf wiring loom out of a spare dash and relayed the fairmont loom in.
The best way I can suggest is lay the new loom over the back of the dash and work along the dash and swap plugs over that way you know that you have done everyone of them before you remount the dash into the car like I have done

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 496

Joined: 14th Sep 2011

Ride: BF II Gas Ute

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hi,

You will need other parts to swap in. There is a different headlight switch, and you may have to Mod the cluster for the Odo light. Even the wiper switch may be different as would the Body module. It wont be hard, but check out everything before you start.

 

_________________

Regards 96ELGli

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:39 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 214

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: Territory TS TDCi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

as long as its going from EF -> EF or EL -> EL it will be plug and play. you will need the matching BEM from the ghia, plus either the heater box, or the blend door motor, climate control vac module and fan speed controller. if your modding your heater box you will need to cut the hole bigger for the fan speed controller. you will also need to drill a hole for the sunload sensor on top of the dash.

as it's going into a futura it will have the wiring for the ambient temp sensor at the front of the car but you will need to add the sensor. also as mentioned you will also need the ghia headlight switch.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Also put some consideration into whether you would prefer the Full Ghia Dash Harness, or just a Fairmont one. The Connectors for the Cluster are different, and include the door open switches on the Ghia but are less plug and play

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring loom from ghia to futura EF
Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 11

Joined: 13th Feb 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef futura

Location: wagga wagga
NSW, Australia

thanks all for the comments, very helpful. i am going to pull out loom and climate control unit from a ef fairmont on the weekend, i will get a better idea then.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:27 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names