MEDIA RELEASE



V8 SUPERCARS POINTS SYSTEM UNDERGOES MAJOR REVAMP FOR 2007

V8 Supercars Australia will implement a new points score structure in 2007 that is designed to provide far bigger rewards to those at the front of the field and include extra incentives to break into the top 15 and the top ten.

An entirely new qualifying format will also be introduced, eliminating the Top Ten shootout at all events aside from the traditional endurance races at Sandown and Bathurst.

Every event in 2007 will be worth a total of 477 points. The aggregate points available from the full season has been reduced from a little over 70,000 in 2006 to approximately 6200 in 2007 which puts a huge emphasis on gaining points.

The points spread will be have larger differentials between the first five cars, the next five cars and the remaining five cars in the top 15. Finishers between 16 and 31 will not receive any points. There will be no drop your worst round in 2007 to make for a clear Championship leader after every event.

The points score system in 2007:

Single Race	72	60	51	45	39	36	33	30	27	24	18	15	12	9	6
Two Race	36	30	25	22	20	18	16	15	13	12	9	8	6	5	3
	36	30	25	22	20	18	16	15	13	12	9	8	6	5	3
Three Race	24	20	17	15	13	12	11	10	9	8	6	5	4	3	2
	24	20	17	15	13	12	11	10	9	8	6	5	4	3	2
	24	20	17	15	13	12	11	10	9	8	6	5	4	3	2

The system will encourage drivers to pass and break into the top 15.

"The system is designed to have all of the pressure moving forward and through the field," V8 Supercars Australia Chief Executive Wayne Cattach said.

"This is a structure we believe that will produce great racing and reward those striving for the front of the field and ultimately winning.

"There are greater incentives to break into each of the three sections of five positions. Over the course of a season making up a position in any race will make a big difference come the end of the year."

The qualifying format will also be different in 2007, aside from Sandown and Bathurst which remains unchanged.

At all other events there will be a 45 minute session with all cars participating in the first 15 minutes, then the fastest 20 cars for the next 15 minutes and the top ten for the final 15 minutes to decide poll position.

In three race weekends the compulsory pit stop windows will also be shortened, opened later in the race and closed earlier. For example in a 30 lap race the pit window will open at lap 10 and close at lap 20.

All races on a three-race weekend will be 120km in length.

The Fujitsu Series will carry the same points format as the Championship Series. The reverse grid format remains in the 2007 Fujitsu Series but only the Top 10 will be inverted.

An overview of the format changes is as follows:

V8 Supercar Championship Series

Qualifying Format

Sprint Rounds:

60 minute overall session

The session will take place in the following format:

Part 1: 15 minutes - 31 Cars

5 minute break from last car entering Pit Bay

Part 2: 15 minutes - Top 20 Cars from Part 1

5 minute break from last car entering Pit Bay

Part 3: 15 minutes – Top 10 Cars from Part 2

Endurance Rounds:

Betta Electrical Sandown 500

The Qualifying format at the Endurance Events will be the same as the case in 2006:

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

The Qualifying format will be largely similar as outlined above with minor modifications to suit the endurance event format:

Race Formats

General Format

All 3 Races 120km in length

Pit Window to be shorter. Opening at 1/3 of Race distance and closing at 2/3 Race distance.

E.G: 30 lap Race Distance, Pit Window will open on lap 10 and close on lap 20

Race 1 on Saturday Races 2 & 3 on Sunday

Fujitsu Series

Qualifying Format

The qualifying format for the 2007 Fujitsu Series will remain unchanged from 2006.

3 Race Format

At all events in which 3 Races take place the middle Race will be a Reverse Grid format. The Top 10 Finishers from Race 1 will be inverted for Race 2. A combined point score of Races 1 and 2 will determine the starting positions for Race 3.

2 Race Format

At all events in which a two Race format occurs, the Grid determination will be from qualifying for Race 1 and from finishing positions in Race 1 to determine the Grid in Race 2.