Fordmods Logo

4sp computer 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 4sp computer
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:30 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: pinjarra
WA, Australia

um im converting my 5lt to a carbarated set up with old electronic dizzy and what not but the tranmisson is also dependant on computer is there a stand alone one or will i have to retain the ecu just for that...? if so i will c4 in it....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

we will need alot more detail then this...

what model car is it going into, what is the gearbox out of, and did it origionally have a computer to it?

most if not all 4 speed gearbox's do need a computer. however it shouldnt be too hard to wire one up

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the EF 5.0 runs a seperate trans controller, so provided you retain this, and feed it all the right signals, you can still keep the 4sp auto. You will need to use an MSD or similar style ignition, or one with a tacho output, and make a bracket to fit a TPS to the carb,
quite a few people are now doing this conversion.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:30 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: pinjarra
WA, Australia

its got nobs on it um its a 91 nc ghia do these have a a seperate tranny modual...? i was told they are under the dash near the handbrake there is a modaul there off some sort but cant see what it is and if it is it must run on thebody loom( with head lights n abs indicaters n sh*t) cause the tranny loom pluged into the engine loom but this loom dint'nt plug into this modual at all but it did plug into the body loom...? hate injected computer crap im so over it!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yes all EA-ED and NA/NC I and II use a seperate tranny computer. it is located under there. ill take a pic to show you. if you need one i have 2 here doing nothing.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: pinjarra
WA, Australia

na its cool its there just had a look so basicly i just have to rewire the tranny loom back to some off engine loom to run tps then back to body b loom wicth goes to this computer... sould'nt be to hard a couple off cartons off beer and a few days piss f@rt arond...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yeah... altho i think they might be right about the NC II not having one... i just looked at mine... and nothing there, yet my EA wreck does.... weird

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: pinjarra
WA, Australia

dont no what series myn is but its there and its got btr australia on it so its defently it...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 93

Joined: 22nd Jul 2006

Ride: ed farimont

Location: braidwood
NSW, Australia

huggie.the controler might be into the ecu mate.it weared i know mate.but its hard one to tell mate.stef

 

_________________

thanks guys

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names