Fordmods Logo

5 speed? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 5 speed?
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

I'm curious if Ford ever released a 5 speed manual version for the EL Ghia 5Ltr models. Does anyone know?

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 651

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: falcon V8

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: clayton
VIC, Australia

Mr Steve would be the one to talk to their Vic but i say they didn't, i'm pretty sure about that
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

unfortunately not, the last of the manual Ghia's was in the EB's

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
unfortunately not, the last of the manual Ghia's was in the EB's

ea actually
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 2:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

Rapier wrote:
Interceptor wrote:
unfortunately not, the last of the manual Ghia's was in the EB's

ea actually
nope, EB's friend of mine had one from new

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EA's mate

Vic, I'm surprised you asked such a question

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

most people who buy ghias now dont want to be changing gears. other wise they would be buying an XR id imagine

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Was just curious about what you'd have to do to convert an auto V8 Ghia to a 5 speed as I believe the regular V8 auto Ghias have an auto trans computer whereas the I6's don't. ( I think )

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

im sure its possile vic havin T5 envy are we haha

dust dont ask ARM to do it for a while he may throw a tool at you lol hmm dont think ive seen a v8 ghia turned into a manual, i guess you would be best to get a ECU out of an xr8
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 198

Joined: 3rd Mar 2005

Ride: NL FBT #079

Location: Melbourne - S.E. suburbs
VIC, Australia

The last of the manual fairmont ghias were the EB series 1. I almost bought a smashed one about three years ago, EB fairmont ghia 5 litre 5 speed. Looking back on it I should have bought it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i think DrE has a factory EB manual ghia.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:08 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

6cyl man yea not a 8 :)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Well the reason for the question was that seeing as the EL V8's came with an auto transmission computer, if you were to install a T5 into the V8, would you just need to disconnect the auto trans computer and mod the stock ECU for manual or would there be more to it?

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:40 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

maybe it would be like the i6's where a couple of resisters tell the computer its in neutral/park? not 100% sure on that one

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names