Fordmods Logo

aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:09 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Jul 2007

Location: bayswater
VIC, Australia

i got a microtec today and the bloke i got it off was runnig one in his eb but it didnt have smart lock. he was runing the ecu standalone, my question is would i just wire up the microtec and leave the standard ecu in. but just make sure the wires that i need to go to the microtec are also not connected to the ford ecu. would this mean smartlock would still work? by the way its a manual so i dont need the ford ecu to run the auto. the second question i have wat size injectors would i need to run 12psi?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

If you don't want to use the standard ECU you can wire the Microtech as a stand alone unit. Smartlock will only be an issue if you keep the standard ECU and cut the smartlock wires.

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Jul 2007

Location: bayswater
VIC, Australia

so if run the microtec standalone smart lock will still work?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Smartlock is in the standard ECU. By running the Microtech, the Ford ECU will not be able to use smartlock anyway as it cuts injector pulse. The Microtech will be controlling that anyway.

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:42 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Jul 2007

Location: bayswater
VIC, Australia

cool so the remote keyless entry will still work?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Jul 2007

Location: bayswater
VIC, Australia

does any1 no if i run an aftermarket ecu standalone wil the keyless entry still work? and what size injector would be good for 12 psi?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 508

Joined: 28th Feb 2009

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Ed v8 fairmont wagon, wr450f

Power: 137 rwkw

my smartlock light still works with my microtech LT8 but not sure how its wired up...

phill
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket ecu in eb turbo with smartlock
Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:53 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

xr6berto wrote:
does any1 no if i run an aftermarket ecu standalone wil the keyless entry still work? and what size injector would be good for 12 psi?


im running an ems ecu stand alone and the smartlock still semi works..
the smartlock module still cuts the ignition/engine cranking, (imobilised) when cars is off and the central locking still works fine,
all has been done is the wire from the smartlock module that triggers the factory ecu is not connected anymore...
so really all that has happened is 1 of the 2 security featurs of smartlock dont work anymore.. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names