Fordmods Logo

Air/Fuel Mixture Meter 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Air/Fuel Mixture Meter
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 11:34 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey guys got a quick question for yous,

I bought one of those Air fuel mixture meter kits from jaycar, installed it and the last led (full rich) is the only one to light, the output of the EGO sensor is 0.1 to 0.8 (higher voltage as the revs rise), wich is what the kit says should happen, tried 3 different IC's in the kits and 2 different kits and same results, just wondering if anyone has installed one of these and had any dramas or if anyone knows how to fix it, btw did a quick search and couldnt find anything.

regards

chris

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I have seen a couple working nicely. Have you tested the voltage with a multimeter, it should sit at around 0.5v at idle (may swing from 0.3-0.7 though), and go to 0.8-0.9v at full throttle. Also just note that they are damn inaccurate because it is narrowband, but it will still give you an idea of what is going on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:34 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

at idle its sitting at 0.1, so it should be higher? The only reason i bought the kit was because its 14.95 and gives you some idea of whats going on :)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

It could be right although that means the engine is fairly lean at around 16:1+. The EEC tries to keep idle and light throttle at 14.64:1 which is 0.5v.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:07 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

hmm ok, the other two leads on the EGO sensor one is 12v+ and the other is some kind of earth i get no reading what so ever out of it, ive tried two ego sensors with the same result so maybe my car is running quite lean? ive noticed down low till about 2k its quite gutless and top end its reving butnot maknig power, like its not getting enough fuel. Maybe its not reading right because it is lean, although its only lighting the full rich led, on a side note maybe i have a CFI fuel pump, i bought the car mpfi but i have a feeling it was converted, will it be leaning with a cfi fuel pump?

regards

Chris

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeah a CFI pump will cause it to lean out up high.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1751

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA ute, FG XR6T

Location: Quakers Hill
NSW, Australia

Run a multi between your motor and the chassis (motor running and hi-beams on) and measure the charge. Your O2 sensor would be grounded to the motor. Chassis may be suffering a loose ground connection somewhere. Remember were talking small voltage figures from an operational o2 sensor so any stray current in the circuit will have an effect. You may get results grounding directly to a motor point.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:16 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

no worries ill give it a try, ive changed computers, ego sensors, change where the af meter was getting power from, so ill check out the ground, i know there is a ground from the gearbox to the chassis, not the block itself tho

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

while i think of it, wich wire is the sensor wire just to make sure, its shaped like this if you look into the plug (EGO side of the plug)


. .
.

the wire i have connected to is the top left wire, there are two white wires and one black the wire its connected to is white and outputs a 0.1v signal at idle and rises as it gets revs

cheers

chris

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

It should be the black wire, the two white wires are 12v and earth, I think you are reading the earth wire which may still give you some voltage output. Also remember that the O2's don't start working for 30-60sec after startup (sometimes longer).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 1:26 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

awesome ill try the black wire stupid me :( thanks mate youve been a great help

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 8:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

im over it stupid thing, hooked up the black wire and now its reading full lean, on accessories its reading halfway as soon as i click onto run it goes to lean and doesnt budge argh stupid cars

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 9:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

DrE wrote:
im over it stupid thing


HAHA yeah sometimes it gets like that. I would be using the multimeter to check everything before worrying about the AF display. As I said you should see voltage ranging between 0.3v and 0.7v at idle once the engine has warmend up enough (once warm) and a steady 0.85v (from memory) when cold for the first 30-60sec.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 11:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Also, make sure its using the HEGO ground (i assume these are 3 or 4 wire sensors??)

If using a body earth you may not get heaps accurate readings.... they'll be distorted by headlight current etc.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 1:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah make sure you have connected the ground of the jaycar kit to a good ground. If you can see the voltage swing on a multimeter then the kit has to work. (unless you buggered it when soldering it up!)

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names