Fordmods Logo

another bbm question 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: another bbm question
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:39 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi
ive recently put a au engine in my ea .so far its still got the log style manifold..
i want to put a bbm on it but after reading many posts on the subject im not sure what to do??
is the log manifold equivilent to the short or long runners??
or is it in between?
would there be any power gain if the bbm was set to stay on short or stay long.compared to the log manifold??

ive read about using the el ecu but it seems like a lot of mucking around

othewise i will use a rpm switch to change the runners..
but will there be a noticable power increase..

or is it just a waste of money????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

I think if you dont wanna mess with ECU your only choice is to force it to stay in long or short mode.. short im guessing.. (someone correct me)..

But sticking the EL ECU in isnt really an issue.. u stick it in.. run a wire from the BBM switch to the ECU and run a wire from the BBM switch to the power from ignition wire through fuse.

I've just done (EFFalcon and I...) EL motor complete with BBM and thermos into my EBII.. EL ecu plugs straight in and as i said wire from bbm switch to ecu and power it and it'll work fine!

Only downside to EL ECU in EA-ED is that your trip computer wont function any more..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:31 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the other down side is i dont have smartlock either..
and i have recently fitted a trip comp aswell..

if i was to fit the bbm with it set to one position is there anything to gain from this?????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

im going to use a rpm switch as i dont have smartlock either.

the other option is a smart lock eliminator

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:53 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

TMAN NK wrote:
the other down side is i dont have smartlock either..
and i have recently fitted a trip comp aswell..

if i was to fit the bbm with it set to one position is there anything to gain from this?????

I would say no, apart from being able to go serpentine without an XH tensioner.

Edit: I wouldn't use RPM switch on stock EEC either, have heard of some weird results because of it.
Voxace I think mentioned it pinging on long runners?
Others have just got s**t results lol
The EA-ED maps just aren't compensated for it, it's a fairly major change, having different runner lengths switching over!
Could do it IF you had a way of tuning it.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:11 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

so to get it to work properly ill have to use a el ecu..
other than the smart lock eliminator what else has to be done??
will the whole loom need to be changed or just the part for the manifold??
and why wont the eb trip comp work on el ecu??

its looking like i might forget the whole thing..
otherwise it sounds like unless its done properly its only good for looks..

at the moment im just weighing up my options. if there is no real gain by using a rpm switch on the bbm why do people still do it??
and has anyone done it and is totaly satisfied with the results.??

and is the bbm where the ef/el/au get there extra 9 kw over the eb/ed??

last night i must have read about 10 threads on the subject but with so many different opinions im now confused on what to do:?

sorry for all the questions
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

You'll have to modify your EA-ED loom to fit the EL BBM.. this means extending a few of the wires and it can be a real pain if trying to get the EB loom to plug into everything on the BBM while attatched to the motor.. dont wanna do that again!!

The wire from the EB ECU that runs to the trip (and provides information only for the trip) corresponds with the wire that runs from the EL ECU to the EL Cluster (which then runs to the EL trip) and it provides a lot more info than the EB one, apparently in my car the average L/100km is about 35L .. which it obviously isnt.. so yeah EB trip with EL ecu = no deal.

Basically I wouldn't bother doing it without the EL ECU (and smartlock i guess) unless you have a way to tune the car as Steady said.. (as in aftermarket ecu..)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:33 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

TMAN NK wrote:
and is the bbm where the ef/el/au get there extra 9 kw over the eb/ed??

Partly.
Also different head castings, higher compression, and I'll take a stab and say the knock sensor allowed slightly more agressive timing maps.
About it really.

edit: just noticed you've got an AU motor.
OED666 in his ED ran a 13.8 with the log manifold on his AU motor, with a custom ground surecam, and chiptorque, along with some driveline bits and pieces.
So the log manifold ain't all that bad ;)

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i have spoket to striker about this. i have everything sorted except the 3 wires which plug into beside the throttle body. once i have this sorted ill have everything done and ready to go

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

as far as i know, putting a bbm into a non-smartlock car is kinda a pain in the a**
speak to voxace, he knows a lot on the subject
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:17 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i still might consider using the bbm. because i like the filter set up on the later one..but if i have a problem with pinging when it switches over i may leave it on the short runners or the long not sure wich one.
what would the log manifold be equivilent to..??
would it be considered as a short manifold ??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

the RPM switch will switch the BBM for you when it needs to be switched. my recomendation is to buy this switch setup from jaycar and install it.

once i find out where the wires beside the throttle body go to ill post here to let you know

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
the RPM switch will switch the BBM for you when it needs to be switched. my recommendation is to buy this switch setup from jaycar and install it.

once i find out where the wires beside the throttle body go to ill post here to let you know


you do realise that your ECU's fuel mapping wont cope very well with the BBM switching??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

im bidding on an EL computer on ebay at the moment so if i get that ill be chatting to a mate who knows how to setup the computers ect and ill be running the smartlock iliminator also

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:11 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

ok
after talking to a couple of different people and reading your replies .
ive decided to do the conversion anyway

so a big thanks to everyone who has replied.....

Last edited by TROY. on Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:48 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names