Fordmods Logo

AU ecu - EF 

 

Page 2 of 6 [ 76 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

should have just thrown in a manual and be done with.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Maybe if i had a spare $1400 i would. but at the time $350 was a much more attractive option. and i still got a gain in performance. In the future i will go manual. but for the meantime i got a nice tight box that performs well. and i can sell it later on when i go manual.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 5:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

should have yelled out i could have got you a full conversion out of a ef xr6 that was rolled low k's and he only wanted $450. was it a AU box and conversion for $1400 ? caldwell rd ford wreckers ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 5:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Now i wish you hada said something when i was b**ch bout the auto for weeks b4 i had it fixed. Looked round a few places and $1400 is about the going rate for a good 5spd conversion. can you still get that manual conversion????? could well be interested at that price in a few more weeks.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 5:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1175

Joined: 23rd Mar 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 1994 ED Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Go autos :D

 

_________________

1994 ED Fairmont Champaign Gold - AU Series II Intech 4.0L - EL EFI - Thermo Fans - 4.11 LSD - Pacemaker 4480 Into Custom 3" Exhaust - Shift Kit
In Progress: EL 4 Speed Auto- 3000 STALL - To be fitted
EF Tickford Race Spec Head Port- In the shop
Custom SureCam - Chiptorque

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

fastleno wrote:
and whats the point of flashing a ECU for a stock N/A engine, you really going to spend $1000+ just so as you can get 5 more kw ?


because i want to see how much i can gain with a factory ecu.
as i said before, if i try it and its s**t, i have a valid answer for those who ask next time.
the car i'm doing it to ran a 14.67 at willowbank last weekend with an untouched engine, only intake/exhaust mods. for my own pleasure, i want to see if it's got low 14's in it without cracking it open.
i doubt it, but most people would doubt it ran a 14 without the proof.
and i would go aftermarket ecu, but that makes my car defective.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yes go auto's till i get my T5 with racing clutch :P

i think its time someone actually tried the AU ECU in EF so people stop asking about it. even if they dont get any gains then atleast we will all know and learn from it ;)

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

well i guess you have a point smoke but this tread has had a few twists, started as "No specific purpose other than i might as well have a slightly newer ecu than the ef on with hopefully better maps" and turned in flash tuning and worked engines ect
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

fastleno wrote:
well i guess you have a point smoke but this tread has had a few twists, started as "No specific purpose other than i might as well have a slightly newer ecu than the ef on with hopefully better maps" and turned in flash tuning and worked engines ect


The whole point in the begining was that the ecu i have at the moment is playing up and needs replacing anyway. (or so i thought). and i dont know exactly what gains woulda been got but the further in i looked the AU ecu seemed a better choice (more options later on). and as noone seems to have done it. i kinda thought that maybe i was gona be the one to be able to jump on here and say yay or nay to it workin. I wasnt just gona swap ecu's for the fun of it. if i never thought i had issues with my ecu i never would have even bothered.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Mont ZL Lane 4x4 Bronco

Location: Widebay
QLD, Australia

Talk to waggin, he has done it. You need one out of a AU series 1 with SMARTLOCK. You gain sequential injection under cruise but loose the diagnose code function. But if you wire it with OBD plug you have access for a flashtune
I'm also considering doing this in the future.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

smee wrote:
Talk to waggin, he has done it. You need one out of a AU series 1 with SMARTLOCK. You gain sequential injection under cruise but loose the diagnose code function. But if you wire it with OBD plug you have access for a flashtune
I'm also considering doing this in the future.


Thanks heaps for that mate. I have been witing for someone to say something like that. so it can be done and has been done.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1175

Joined: 23rd Mar 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: 1994 ED Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

hmmmmmmm.....Now this is getting interesting...I have an AU motor so it has the crank sensor already...now im thinking about this conversion.. I would rather a flash tune then a piggy back chip would this be the better option?

 

_________________

1994 ED Fairmont Champaign Gold - AU Series II Intech 4.0L - EL EFI - Thermo Fans - 4.11 LSD - Pacemaker 4480 Into Custom 3" Exhaust - Shift Kit
In Progress: EL 4 Speed Auto- 3000 STALL - To be fitted
EF Tickford Race Spec Head Port- In the shop
Custom SureCam - Chiptorque

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 4:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

smee wrote:
You gain sequential injection under cruise but loose the diagnose code function. But if you wire it with OBD plug you have access for a flashtune.


sounds interesting, dont suppose you could go into more detail?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:08 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Mont ZL Lane 4x4 Bronco

Location: Widebay
QLD, Australia

I'm looking at this right now - collecting info, I dont want to install until I know I can get the fault code output function via a laptop
There was good progress over at our mates at FF that was for a BA so dont know if it was going to be compatible with AU1 http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=59392 but the project was put on backburner now
checkout
http://www.elmelectronics.com/index.html
http://www.obd2crazy.com/software.html
dont know yet if they will work with AU1
still looking around
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:19 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 1st Apr 2005

Location: Vic
VIC, Australia

Guys, If you want to run a AU ecu in an EF then go for it, dont let some tosser tell you its a waste of time.
The difference between the AU and EF ecu is chalk and cheese, They may have the same power output but thats about it. The EF ecu is more close to old EA - ED eec-iv and the AU is the real eec-v, uses the epic coprocessor and 2 bank flash.
Ford eec wiring is most the same between models, at most you may need to run a few extra wires. If done properly you should get better gear changes, better economy and smoother accelaration, not to mention the obdii, Limp on coolent lost and flashing ability. Then if you ever go for an au engine its all in sync.

Andrew.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 6  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names