Fordmods Logo

AU ecu - EF 

 

Page 4 of 6 [ 76 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Mont ZL Lane 4x4 Bronco

Location: Widebay
QLD, Australia

twason wrote:
One thing that may be an issue is that when I installed an AU motor into an EF I had real trouble using the AU knock sensor. I had to return to the EF sensor and adapt it to the block. I did no further research on it but I suspected at the time that the characteristics may be different between the two.


Yes that is a bugger, do you have the AU sensor to ECU pinouts?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

They were on this site somewhere. From what I saw, pinouts were IDENTICAL.

This would mean the loom is different to accomodate MAP and IAT being on the one connector.

Id be interested to see someone try this and post results, as it would be a cheap option to get a flashable ECU into an EF.

Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

smee wrote:
twason wrote:
One thing that may be an issue is that when I installed an AU motor into an EF I had real trouble using the AU knock sensor. I had to return to the EF sensor and adapt it to the block. I did no further research on it but I suspected at the time that the characteristics may be different between the two.


Yes that is a bugger, do you have the AU sensor to ECU pinouts?
I ended up using all the EF sensors.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Mont ZL Lane 4x4 Bronco

Location: Widebay
QLD, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
They were on this site somewhere. From what I saw, pinouts were IDENTICAL.

This would mean the loom is different to accomodate MAP and IAT being on the one connector.

Id be interested to see someone try this and post results, as it would be a cheap option to get a flashable ECU into an EF.

Jason


the EF Cam angle sensor is 3 wire but the AU only has 2 & yes one of the wires is the signal return linked to the T-map sensor
I haven't got a AU curcuit diagram to know which one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:26 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

3 pages later finally some answers....

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

smee wrote:
twason wrote:
One thing that may be an issue is that when I installed an AU motor into an EF I had real trouble using the AU knock sensor. I had to return to the EF sensor and adapt it to the block. I did no further research on it but I suspected at the time that the characteristics may be different between the two.


Yes that is a bugger, do you have the AU sensor to ECU pinouts?
Here is the Pinouts for the AU ECU, I notice there are quite a few differences in the wiring to the EF

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: AU ECU Pinouts
AUPCM6-1.jpg
AUPCM6-1.jpg [ 108.83 KiB | Viewed 100 times ]

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

im stuck im doin a manual conversion to my EFII fairmont and i cant find a manual ECU anywhere. Twason u seem to know what u are goin on about can you perhaps pm me and fill me in on anything u know about the AUI ecu and all the F'ing around im gunna have to do to make my car work. i have a bunky BTR box in my car that has shagged a shifting solenoid and am keen to dispose of the headf**k its goin to be to fix.. Ur time would be greatly appreciated.. Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Be happy to but it is early days for me and I am not in any hurry to finish, just fact finding at present. You can use resistors to obviate the need for a manual ECU, while not perfect it does work.
The only probelm appears to be the idle and revs hanging between gear changes.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:43 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

is this severe to clutch life. i.e. excessive wear through gear changes due to revs "hanging" or do they only "hang" momentarily. i was a little sceptical about the resistor thing at first but i think it might be what i have to do in order to get the box in, mind you i havent really delved into how it is done do you have to be a gun with a soldering iron. the idle thing i heard can be rectified simply by adjusting the base idle screw.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Hanging is only momentry, you may not even notice.
By all means do the resistor trick first, it costs very little to try and it will get you going so you can make the decision later.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

do we have a full pinout for the EF ECU?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

twason wrote:
The only probelm appears to be the idle and revs hanging between gear changes.


I started with the resistor trick, then ened up fitting a manual ecu and unplugged the loom with the resistors but the revs are hanging really bad between gear changes even with the manual ecu, any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

cant see why it wont fit, I ran the AU ECU to run the AU engine in the EL. Minor headf***k with a couple of wires. Only thing different is the MAP and IAT sensors, also the A/C will throw up fault codes as they are different

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

twason wrote:
Hanging is only momentry, you may not even notice.
By all means do the resistor trick first, it costs very little to try and it will get you going so you can make the decision later.


can u give me a link to the page that the write up is on for the resistor trick
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

macxr8 wrote:
cant see why it wont fit, I ran the AU ECU to run the AU engine in the EL. Minor headf***k with a couple of wires. Only thing different is the MAP and IAT sensors, also the A/C will throw up fault codes as they are different
My initial look reveals quite a few wiring pin changes, additional inputs for the AU and confusion over sequential or Bank wired injectors.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 6  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names