Fordmods Logo

AU ECU problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU ECU problems
Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 7:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 71

Posts: 3

Joined: 1st May 2008

Location: Sdyney
NSW, Australia

Au futura auto had tickford motor fitted by a company but cannot get car to start with the tickford ECU they have supplied I can not find out if it is a manual ECU or an auto that has other problems . the numbers on the one supplied are as follows 1RC23-12A650-CB other No's are 12CB 004121 If any one can help please as i would like to get it sorted by the way it is running on the standard AU ECU at the moment
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 11:05 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Is it a Smartlock or smartshield ECU? that is why it isnt starting as the lock/sheild is not setup for your bem.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 8:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 71

Posts: 3

Joined: 1st May 2008

Location: Sdyney
NSW, Australia

thanks Foggy.
The car is a smartlock system . The motor and ECU are from a 2000 model fairmont ghia. which is smartsheild system . according to ford , is there any way this can be resolved other than replacing the BCM or refitting a stock motor back in . Thanks Terry
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 9:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The easiest way I can think of is to try and get an ecu out of a 99 au which has smartlock on it. Im assuming the new motor is a VCT one???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 10:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 71

Posts: 3

Joined: 1st May 2008

Location: Sdyney
NSW, Australia

Hi Foggy , Yes the motor has VCT. I am new to this and trying to help out our daughter who has the problem . Thanks again for your information
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 10:50 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi Terry, You should be able to use the motor with your current ecu but you will need to rig a trigger for the vct. Have a look through the 6 cylinder workshop for more info
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 10:50 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi Terry, You should be able to use the motor with your current ecu but you will need to rig a trigger for the vct. Have a look through the 6 cylinder workshop for more info
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 10:50 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sorry about the double post
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 1:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

any luck yet????

have seen a VCT motor put into a AU before but they had to put in the full wiring loom in ECU, BEM etc

another thing is that you cant just put in another ecu, ford have to program it to work from what I have been told. not like the EF-L's where you turn the ignition on for 30-60mins so it relearns

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EF_nut and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names