Fordmods Logo

BBM question 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 31 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

voxace wrote:
That's because the solenoid is to BLOCK vacuum, not to let it through.
When it sees 12V, it blocks the vacuum getting through and the switch valve opens the butterflies.


Yes I was forgetting that.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ????
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

OK guys My solenoid blocks vac to the bbm normally and lets vac thru when operated. This unit came off a running vehicle and all pipes etc are in correct position.
I will investigate further and let u guys get on with your lives. THANKYOU for all your input.

I will let u know when I find out what the hell is going on this end

Cheers

Clive

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ????
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 12:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

falconea wrote:
OK guys My solenoid blocks vac to the bbm normally and lets vac thru when operated. This unit came off a running vehicle and all pipes etc are in correct position.
I will investigate further and let u guys get on with your lives. THANKYOU for all your input.

I will let u know when I find out what the hell is going on this end

Cheers

Clive


Thats odd, can you get the part number and post it up.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ????
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Well guys u were right................. The vac unit is held operated all the time . Just checked on an AU. So now I will have to find out y the solenoid does noe allow vac to the BBM unless it is operated, which is oposite to the signal from the ECU

Thanks again for the input I will keep u informed.

I will also try and get the part no and post it up , if I get time I will do it today

Cheers

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Either get a new one, or add a relay to make it work opposite is a quick fix if you have 5 pole relay lying around :)

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ????
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

OK so here is a followup. I decided to do a KOEO test and I have a few codes

4 codes are because the fans are not connected, run by external controller
2 codes for a/c relay and WOT for a/c
1 code for EIL lamp not connected
But most important is a code for BBM solenoid not connected. So I connected the sol and reset codes. Still I get the fault code for BBM not connected.
The reason I have an ext cont for the fans was when the fans were connected to the EEC for control they ran all the time once the engine started.
So do I have a F---ED EEC or am I missing something here.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Have you checked the volatage on the pin at idel and above 4000rpm to see if it ouputting corectly first.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

One possibility you could keep in mind is that you can get frequency switch kits from Jaycar.

You could use one of those and share the tacho signal wire to run the switch. You then have the ability to change the switch-over RPM, but it is widly acepted that Ford got it pretty much bang on at the 3800 RPM mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ?????????????????????????
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Hey Guys who is a D/H.

Problem solved...........................................

Because of the trouble I found with the EEC it made me think on different lines and searching for clues on the circuit diagrams. Low and behold my rather tattered and dirty diagram hid the problem. I lost track of a wire and thought it was going to earth and it went to power.

This reverses the way the solenoid operates and the system does work how u said. Boy do I feel STUPID. So when doing the KOEO test the sol was wired to earth so I got the code and measuring from earth I got nothing above or below 3800 rpm. Quite simple really. So y didn't I see it earlier.
I apolagise for wasting so much of ur time, but I have learned much in the process. At least I can blame it on my age.

Cheers and thankyou to all who had input to this thread.

Clive

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cool, at least you got it sorted, and I think some valuable information has been posted, hopefully eveyone has learned something :)

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ????
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Yes I think I learned a lot.

But once again it is the input of more than one person who solved the problem, it just shows what a great Ford site this is. I go to other Ford forums and u do get different info, but this is the one I keep coming back too.
I try and help other as much as I can , so the wheel will keep turning.

Cheers
Clive

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: lights
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

By the way I gave up trying to modify my headlights like yours, just could not get it right.
Might look for some projectors that might fit.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: lights
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

By the way I gave up trying to modify my headlights like yours, just could not get it right.
Might look for some projectors that might fit.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah the headlights were not that easy, i guess i got lucky and git it 98% rigth first attempt (passenger side) driver side I did much better, have to re-do passenger side, will try take pics so people can see how I did it.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: lights
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Thanks dellboy pm me when u get those pics I would like a set.

Cheers

Clive

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:55 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names