Fordmods Logo

Can AU1 VCT computer run an AU2 VCT engine ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Can AU1 VCT computer run an AU2 VCT engine ?
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 10:48 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 8

Joined: 23rd May 2007

Ride: Various

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Hi guys,

I have sourced an AU2 VCT 6 which will go into my jetboat, and want to know if an AU1 VCT computer will run it (therefore allowing a smartlock bypass to be fitted).

I can source an AU1 VCT ECU, but need to know whether it will be compatible. The engines are identical from the little bit of research I have done.

Anyone ???

Warren
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 6:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 8

Joined: 23rd May 2007

Ride: Various

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Or this maybe another option:

Can a megasquirt II be used to run an AUII VCT engine, and does it have the capability of switching the VCT on at a certain (3000rpm) rev range.

This motor is going in a jetboat, so I only need limited operation (ignition, fuel etc.)

Any thoughts / suggestions appreciated.

Warren.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Would you be better off locking the cams with a vernier and ditching the VCT if it is for a boat?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 8:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 8

Joined: 23rd May 2007

Ride: Various

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

The idea was to have a harder revving engine as we don't change gears or anything. The VCT revs harder without consuming the fuel levels associated with beefy cams (like a 1636 etc.) across the board.

The idling quality won't be lost also.

It's just a matter of controlling the thing, whether it be by bypassing the Smartshield, or controlling the motor with an aftermarket ecu. The MSII looks the good price wise, as long as it can control the VCT.

Thoughts ??

Warren.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

If the revs you are running are constant then VCT plays no part. Get a custom cam optimised for the RPM band you need.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

whats the diff port wise and cam duration wise between std xr6 and vct?

where does the extra 8kw come from?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 8

Joined: 23rd May 2007

Ride: Various

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

The revs aren't constant, thats the problem. The range of revs determines the speed we can travel at, and at some stage we use the entire range.

A lot of time is spent travelling at eight knots (around 2000 revs), yet in open water the higher the revs, the faster we go. That's why a VCT would be ideal, the low rpm speeds and smoothness are as important as the flat out high rev speeds.

Otherwise I would have just installed an EL 4.0 litre with a 1636 cam, and avoided all the smartshield issues.

Another thread mentioned someone on this site selling a smartshield bypass. I think the name was projetec, protejet or something similar.

Any idea who this is, and what he actually sells to get around the smartshield.

Also, would installing a key barrel and coded key somewhere in the wiring solve the problem ?

Warren...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

But while you are accelerating don't your revs maxed out unlike a car where they build up? I don't see that advantage in VCT for a boat.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 26, 2007 10:06 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 8

Joined: 23rd May 2007

Ride: Various

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

With an outboard or prop shaft the revs max out, with top end being achieved once boat speed catches up to the slippage of the prop.

With a jet unit, the water is all contained within the unit (the stator), so the resistance is far greater (not unlike the rolling resistance of a car on a drive shaft). The propulsion in a jet boat is all centrifical, it relies on the water being shot backwards to provide forward motion.

A prop on the other hand derives its power from the pitch of the blades biting through the water.

The diameter of the outlet, the number and pitch of the impellors (propellors) within the unit, the hp of the motor all have a direct relation to the revs you will achieve.

Warren.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:53 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names