Fordmods Logo

car not starting - electrical i think... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: car not starting - electrical i think...
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:33 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

okay i just installed footwell lights comming from my cigg lighter wires to a switch and then to a light. Ever since my car hasnt been starting. When i turn it on it clicks over and if i have my foot and the accelerator it starts but as soon as i take it off it hits .5 revs and dies. if i start it without my foot on it dosnt start at all. What made me think it is an electrical problem is when i try to start her, the interior light flickers on and off and on.... Ive reset my ECC, inspected my MAP sensor and vacuum line, cleaned my idle control valve out... cant think of it, any help??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

if i remember correctly, the interior light fuse if removed the car won't fire or crank, i forgot which one it is.
sounds more like you've bumped a wire or 3 off somewhere.
how's the spark from the coilpack? does it misfire or just won't idle up enough?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:49 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Doesnt seem to misfiring, just not idling up enough. I did blow the cigg lighter fuse but i replaced it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

is the plug on the idle speed controller and the throttle speed sensor?
my mates falcon wasn't on fully (not contacting) and it did cause the same sort of symptoms.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:55 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 204

Joined: 23rd May 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Well spotted smoke....I would say loose plug to ISC. Had exactly same prob with mine. Just wire tied the plug on....

 

_________________

Thorpy says single wipers are Fully SIK!

EL Futura Dynamic White
Tickford Suspension
K&N Hi flow and XR8 snorkel
DBA Slots and braided lines

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:57 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the plug on the Idle Speed controller seems to be contacting fine, could it possibly be the TPS? havnt looked at that yet. Im pretty sure its gonna end up been a sensory problem
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 204

Joined: 23rd May 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Turn the car on and jiggle teh ISC plug - see if theres any change. Make sure you totally rule it out first cause those symptoms sound VERY familiar....other than that, yeah, probably a sensor prob somewhere.

The worst kind of bogey.

 

_________________

Thorpy says single wipers are Fully SIK!

EL Futura Dynamic White
Tickford Suspension
K&N Hi flow and XR8 snorkel
DBA Slots and braided lines

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 169

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

after a while does it run fine? my ef is doing exactly the same thing but after a while it runs fine which kinda indicates to me that it might be something to do with a startup thing not just ics cause then the car woud die a bit when you put air cond on and stuf anytime...

any ideas?

how do u check map sensor and vacumn, (where are they)

and how do u reset the ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Try all fuses, I had a similar prob, and the CTRLMP Fuse was blown. CHeck and double check all fuses is all i can say
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 2:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

TerroristGHIA wrote:
Try all fuses, I had a similar prob, and the CTRLMP Fuse was blown. CHeck and double check all fuses is all i can say
Brett


i agree - the CRTLP fuse or whatever it is suppies power to the BEM, hence the line is always live. when i went to put mine back in, it sparked and scared the b'geezes out of me, and it blew. take your positive lead off your battery and replace the fuse. Reconnect battery and give that a go.

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 169

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

ill give it a try... ta mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

also check the fuses in the engine bay

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:24 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 169

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

CTRLMP - where is this fuse? what is it for?

i checked a few fuses near steering wheel and am gonna replace the airbag one... hopefully this shoud fix my airbag light coming on.. :S
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

chr!s wrote:
CTRLMP - where is this fuse? what is it for?

i checked a few fuses near steering wheel and am gonna replace the airbag one... hopefully this shoud fix my airbag light coming on.. :S


this fuse is in the fuse box just inside the drivers door. it should be labelled CRT LP, from memory it's a 10A (red anyway) and i thinkit's middle row. been a while since i blew mine!

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:17 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names