Fordmods Logo

Chip to change shift points? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Chip to change shift points?
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

I'm going from 3.08 to either 3.9 or 4.11 diff soon... and I was wondering if there's a cheap way to change the shift points on an auto ECU via a Chip/Edit?

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:56 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The shiftpoints will be fine if you don't change the speedo sender gear, ie. if your speedo stays reading wrong.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:59 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Dodgy as haha. I mostly do city n suburb driving so don't want to get booked by having an incorrect speedo.

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:32 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well theres no speedo sender gear for 3.9s/4.11s anyway :P
You'll have to use a jaycar speedo corrector or similar.
There was talking of possibly needing two if you want shiftpoints right, depending on whether the speedo signal is split, or whether the ECU or dash gets the signal first.
Can't remember what worked.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Yeah my mates going to put in the Jaycar corrector for me...

You just gave me a thought... Maybe put one Jaycar corrector between the sender unit and the speedo to correct the speedo by say X%...and then put another one between the ECU and speedo/sender/watever it gets it's input from and correct the signal by -X%... think it could work?

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:57 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah thats what I meant, not sure if you need too however.
I've got a mate that ran 3.7s in an auto with a jaycar speedo corrector, thats who we discussed using two with, I think he only ended up needing one however, so I'll check with him tomorrow.
I have a feeling it sends the signal to the ECU first, then the dash gets its signal from there, so you'd have to modify the signal after the ECU.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:12 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Thanks for that mate. Let me know what he tells ya.

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

I did this when i went from 3.45 to 3.9. I fitted an XD transducer to the box, which gave the correct speedo reading, then i put the Jaycar corrector on the box ECU. I got my corrector from shiftkits.com.au, and they pre built it for me including instructions on how to install it. Mind you this was for a V8
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
The shiftpoints will be fine if you don't change the speedo sender gear, ie. if your speedo stays reading wrong.
so if u change the speedo gear so it reads correctly that will stuff up your shift points?

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:02 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

No Molloy, ur shift points don't change. They are set at different km/h... not RPM.

Say a 3.08 ECU shifts at 87km/h...on a 3.08 diff that would be say 4000rpm but on a 3.9 diff it would be alot higher, so if u plant down the accelerator, you will hit the rev limiter you reach 87km/h thus the ECU won't shift unless you back off.

But if you don't change the speedo gear, the ECU will think your at 87km/h and shift up when really ur doing 70km/h so you won't rev out to the limiter before the ECU changes.

Hope that makes sence...

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 4:30 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Molloy wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
The shiftpoints will be fine if you don't change the speedo sender gear, ie. if your speedo stays reading wrong.
so if u change the speedo gear so it reads correctly that will stuff up your shift points?

Yes, unless you also have an auto ECU that matches the diff ratio.
eg. 3.45 Diff, grey sender gear, XR6 ECU.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

So did anyone work it out? Steady ED, did your friend shed any light??

Brett, would it be very different from V8 to i6 do you think?

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:25 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mr_rx7_ wrote:
Brett, would it be very different from V8 to i6 do you think?

Yeah, V8s get a seperate trans controller, as opposed to integrated trans control in the 6s.
From what I've been told, the speedo signal goes to the ECU first, so without looking at wiring diagrams, I'm assuming theres a speedo signal fed to the dash from the ECU, you need to tap into it there.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:33 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Ok, what about the Police Cluster? That has the speedo calibrator. So assuming the ECU still receives the uncalibrated signal from the sender, and then the cluster corrects the signal it receives from the ECU, my ECU should still shift normally but my speedo should be correct?

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:54 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mr_rx7_ wrote:
Ok, what about the Police Cluster? That has the speedo calibrator. So assuming the ECU still receives the uncalibrated signal from the sender, and then the cluster corrects the signal it receives from the ECU, my ECU should still shift normally but my speedo should be correct?

Yes, but I dunno how much adjustment they have.
May not be enough for 4.11s

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names