Fordmods Logo

Chiptorque or Flashtune 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 35 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

just clarifying Shum.. he just paid $595... hasnt goit a custom tune? what did he do just tell them a list of mods he has?

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

theblackone wrote:
just clarifying Shum.. he just paid $595... hasnt goit a custom tune? what did he do just tell them a list of mods he has?


thats the interseting part... he actually got it given to him from another mate... it was bought off the shelf for one car, no tuning or anything... then just plugged into the XR6...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i think i might just get the chiptorque.. and if i think it is necessary, i will get a custom tune and spend the extra $500+.

I gotta install my cam first hehe.

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:55 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 6

Joined: 23rd May 2005

Location: Portland
VIC, Australia

I got a chiptorque, makes my ECU lock up at random, nothing like driving around in limp mode with base idle........

 

_________________

Keep Honking, I'm Reloading.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmm thats not good Tward.. did u install it urself?
have u contacted Chiptorque?

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Tward wrote:
I got a chiptorque, makes my ECU lock up at random, nothing like driving around in limp mode with base idle........


very likely the chip isnt seated in the j3 port or there is some crap on the connections.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 6

Joined: 23rd May 2005

Location: Portland
VIC, Australia

Yeah, emailed them, they told me it sounds like it's not getting proper contact with the ecu, so I resoldered it and cleaned the contacts, but it only lasted a couple of days before going screwy again. They told my that if i mailed them the ecu and chip they'd install it for me. which is real handy cause i live in the sticks and need the car running to get to work.

i'm pretty sure its not the contact, but the fact that we got rough as guts roads out here, and the chip's probaly vibrating too much. i recon i might attack it with a glue gun and see if it moves after that.....

But on the bright side when the chip is working it made the car drive the way it was before i stuck the cam in it, smoooth, and stopped it stalling at the lights. (gave the left foot a break)

 

_________________

Keep Honking, I'm Reloading.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:38 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 126

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Ride: xlsv8ute

Location: mundulla
SA, Australia

g'day had a FLASH TUNER fitted to auIII 5ltr (all the usual mods with 2031 cam)the stock computer couldnt handle it 131rwkw after tuned on dyno with flah tuner 196.4rwkw. Have three different tunes One for 98 or more octane, one for s**t fuel and one which cuts revs out at three grand.All up it cost me $1450 including 1hr on dyno.
Im happy with it, runs as efficient or better than before mods and reliable, also excellent kws gains
chris

 

_________________

go the CROWS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 127

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Ride: ef falcon

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

whats the difference between the hp1 hp2 and hp4 chips that chiptorque have?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

animal_ef wrote:
whats the difference between the hp1 hp2 and hp4 chips that chiptorque have?


The hp1, hp2,... are just differnt off the shelf tunes. HP1 is for pretty much stock engines (exhaust and intake mods) upto hp4 which is for moderately cammed engines (crow stage 3 or wade 1521a size).

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 8:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i think:
Hp1 and HP2 are just the different stages?

HP1 - is just the performance chip
Hp2 - is the chip with custom tuning
HP4 - is the chip with chamshaft kit?

or am i completely wrong in that they are different chips.
OTHERWISE
If i was to have a camshaft installed, i would go for the HP4 chip? Just a lil confused on that.

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yeah kind of right

The chip is always the same - its a chiptorque J3 chip

If you get a custom tune, then you have a custom tuned chiptorque.

If you get an off the shelf chiptorque, you get the chiptorque loaded with a hp1, hp2, hp3, hp4 etc tune. Hp1 is for no cam, and 2,3,4,5 are for progressively larger cams.

Since they are reprogrammable, you can get them a hp1 changed to a hp2 or a hp4 custom tuned. I had a hp4 in my car that I sold which was changed to a hp2 to suit the buyers mods.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

so hp4 would be recommended for me as i will have the RPD Stage 2 Cam installed?

thanks stockstandard u have been very helpful!

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

chrisredden wrote:
g'day had a FLASH TUNER fitted to auIII 5ltr (all the usual mods with 2031 cam)the stock computer couldnt handle it 131rwkw after tuned on dyno with flah tuner 196.4rwkw. Have three different tunes One for 98 or more octane, one for s**t fuel and one which cuts revs out at three grand.All up it cost me $1450 including 1hr on dyno.
Im happy with it, runs as efficient or better than before mods and reliable, also excellent kws gains
chris


Yer but i think the Flashtune for EF/EL will just be a chip like chiptoque.. from what i have read, and not plugged into the diagnostic port. (correct me if im wrong....)
Good to see your happy with the product.

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmmm was reading about Megasquirts ...seems like theres another option now!

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: car10001 and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:14 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names