Fordmods Logo

Cluster reading dropouts 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Cluster reading dropouts
Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 7:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 577

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL XR6 5spd

Not exactly fuel or ECU, but unsure where else to post this.

Has anyone ever had all their dials momentarily hit 0 when driving then jump back to normal half a sec later, and not due to a power loss, as that would cause the lights to go out and the dials to gently fall, whereas this the dials quickly jump to 0.

Its happened a couple of times over the years, and recently i've noticed a 'speed sensor intermittent' error when doing a power off diagnostic.

One other thing, I actually drove my car without a cluster hooked up briefly a couple of weeks back and it ran like absolute garbage.. has anyone got an explanation for that? It was so bad that I had to rev it to around 3000 just to get he car moving.

 

_________________

EL XR6 5spd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 11:17 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 47

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Ride: xr8

Location: temora
NSW, Australia

relise on sensors from the gauges my guess

 

_________________

if it dont work the first time your not useing a big enough hammer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cluster reading dropouts
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 11:53 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Bug wrote:
One other thing, I actually drove my car without a cluster hooked up briefly a couple of weeks back and it ran like absolute garbage.. has anyone got an explanation for that? It was so bad that I had to rev it to around 3000 just to get he car moving.


Auto? It's stuck in 3rd if there's no speedo signal. So yeah, really 'exiciting' acceleration. I had this happen when I blew the INST-BATT fuse.

Probaly sounds like a loose connection to the cluster. Is it all the guages, or just one? If it's just one, check the appropriate sender unit + loom. Other wise check the cluster plugs.

edit: you can still manually change 1-2-3, 4th doesn't work.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

this has happened to me twice now also, but only wen ive had the dash in diagnostics mode and not changed modes for a long time, all the dials drop to zero for 1/2 second and backlights go off, then come back on with the odometer back in normal mode

weird..

 

_________________

<br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 4:18 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

That's normal for the diag mode, as it only lasts half an hour or so, and the cluster resets causing that effect.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 988

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: el faimont, dual fuel

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i had the same problem a while back where the neddles quickly hit zero and jumped up straight away with no dramas in driving.
it hasn't happened after i took the cluster out to change a few of the bulbs.
so like datamie said look for a loose connection or frayed wire or something along the lines or that.

 

_________________

why do u write in here.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 577

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL XR6 5spd

All the guages fail momentarily.

Being stuck in 3rd gear felt right, I guess it didnt go too badly then considering lol

 

_________________

EL XR6 5spd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:50 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

yeah, I had fun driving to find a replacement fuse, stuck in 3rd - until I figured out you can shift manualy.

Without the cluster, the ECU doesn't know how fast you're going and goes into failsafe mode.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names