Fordmods Logo

diagnostic mode & aftermarket ecu's 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: diagnostic mode & aftermarket ecu's
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:17 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 16th Feb 2007

Am i going to get any usefull info out of diagnostic mode in my ef with the megasquirt running the fuel and spark side of things.?
Or am i going to be hammered with error code's all the time?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 16th Feb 2007

I'll try tomorrow & see what happens then :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

Swine wrote:
I'll try tomorrow & see what happens then :?


i was wondering that myself today, let us know how ya go.

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

There is a good chance you will only get garbage, but it depends on quite a few things.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:11 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

What diag information is relevant if your engine is running off the MS anyhow ?

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 16th Feb 2007

stockstandard wrote:
There is a good chance you will only get garbage, but it depends on quite a few things.

Can you elaborate?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The EEC with throw error codes if the sensor data it receives is way off from what it would expect for what IT is doing. Assuming you have disconnected the EEC outputs and share the inputs with the MS2, the EEC will be thinking it is in control but seeing the results of what the MS2 is doing. If the MS2 is running the engine very close to how the EEC would ideally like it to be run, then it will be relatively happy. If it is not happy with the sensor data it is getting, it will try to change things thinking it is still in control, at some point it will realise that something is going wrong and it will start throwing error codes.

So when you run diagnostics, if you get an error code there may be no error, and if you dont get an error it doesnt necessarily mean that nothing is wrong either.

As said ^^^, what information are you after when you run diag?

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:00 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 16th Feb 2007

gearbox,aircon,abs, anything non engine really
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:18 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names