Fordmods Logo

Diagnostic mode EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Diagnostic mode EF
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Hey guys,

Just curious on what diagnostic mode is exactly, and how you do it?

Thanks team! :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

it should be in modifications

but yeh has different options in what you can do

e.g display fuel range
display rpm/speed
and other stuff...
but yeh check in mods

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

chunkz wrote:
it should be in modifications

but yeh has different options in what you can do

e.g display fuel range
display rpm/speed
and other stuff...
but yeh check in mods


Oh, that is all it is? I thought it could tell you problems etc etc.. ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/documents.php?doc=12

Ford EF/EL Falcon, XR, Fairmont Instrument Cluster Diagnostic Mode
This document describes the Falcon EF/EL Dash Diagnostic Information that is provided when the Dash is placed in Diagnostic mode
The information that is returned is displayed using the Odometer display area, and includes the information that is transferred on the ECU bus
This includes Fuel level, Fuel consumption, oil pressure, Coolant Temperature, RPM, Vehicle speed, Gear lever position, and many others

but yeh would be cool if it could tell ya whats wrong

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Diagnostic mode EF
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

XCH45R wrote:
Hey guys,

Just curious on what diagnostic mode is exactly, and how you do it?

Thanks team! :D


I assume you are meaning the EEC diagnostics mode, not the clusters information mode. When you put the EEC into dignostics mode it does a series of checks to find faults in the sensors which are current or which are stored in EEC memory. You also use diagnostics mode to set base timing as it stops the EEC from adding timing advance. You have to short out two pins on the diagnostics port (the port below the fuse panel (cant remeber which ones, I have a diagram around here somewhere), then you you can choose to run a numberof different tests (most of the proceedures are described in the ford repair manuals.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Diagnostic mode EF
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

EDXR8 wrote:
XCH45R wrote:
Hey guys,

Just curious on what diagnostic mode is exactly, and how you do it?

Thanks team! :D


I assume you are meaning the EEC diagnostics mode, not the clusters information mode. When you put the EEC into dignostics mode it does a series of checks to find faults in the sensors which are current or which are stored in EEC memory. You also use diagnostics mode to set base timing as it stops the EEC from adding timing advance. You have to short out two pins on the diagnostics port (the port below the fuse panel (cant remeber which ones, I have a diagram around here somewhere), then you you can choose to run a numberof different tests (most of the proceedures are described in the ford repair manuals.


Yes, That is what I am after, How does it tell you the faults though?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

By flashing a series of codes to an LED which is connected to the disgnostic port... kinda like morse code. Then look up the relevant code on a list.

The fordmods EEC-V doco should have a write-up on this.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 452

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

You connect a jumper to put it in diagnostic mode and an LED. You count the flashes on the LED and they are the faults.

Get the Doc. It's pretty easy to do.

 

_________________

Adrian
EF Fairmont, 5.0Lt, Pacemaker Headers, Sports cats, Redback muff, T5 manual, 16" Tickford rims, Tickford "Body Styling", DBA Gold Rotors, Heritage Green, JVC MP3
XB Coupe, 351C, twin system, C4 shift kitted auto, 9" LSD, Eccose Blue, very loud !!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

thanks for that guys, I will give it a go ;)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names