Fordmods Logo

doing the resistor mod? manual to auto 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: doing the resistor mod? manual to auto
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey everyone,

my head hurts from reading all the posts on how to do the resistor mod and what i need.

currently im running my auto ticky ecu with no resistors.
i also have the manual loom installed.
oh by the way i have a ef fairmont.

i was told by the people that put it in that i wouldnt need to do the resistor mod cause i have the manual loom.

but since then i've realised that my thermos come on all the time and the revs at idle r poo 1000-1200.

i've read 1 post that say to put the resistors in like this
http://justfordima.koolhost.com/EFELaut ... ersion.htm

and in another thread it says to put the resistors in 2 different plugs.

i'm hell confused ey.

can y'all give us a hand.

cheers.

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

I have a factory Manual EF, and as I've stated, I have a pair of resistors built into the loom itself, I am unaware if this is actually the mod they made just by chance ford put in an auto ecu.

However... first go in the mornings, My thermo's go flat out.... untill i get vacuum and its all good, I can turn it off and restart and the thermo's do not go. (untill they need too).

As for you idle, are you sure they didn't bump it up for you?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

nar cause if its at 1200 i give it a rev then it goes to 1000 and then give it another rev and then it drops to 650-700.(sometimes cant get it to drop)

so im assuming that its cause i havent done the resistor mod?

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Sounds more like the Idle speed controller is sticking,

Very common.
Read http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=23
Middle of the page.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

yeh but my thermos r on all the time now ill pull that off anyway and give it a clean anyway cheer man.

but i would still like to know about the resistor mod.

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i cant get mine to start now, just done the manual conversion mod, kizzer, did you modify your auto box loom for the transmission?
I have an ea t5 in mine and used the ea loom, but the fricken thing wont start?
I have the resistors i need here, so if you could help me out with that info? ill trace the wires and show ya where the resistors go

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

the fans will be on constantly because the ecu/pcm dosent get any information about the auto being at operating temp - because its not there. so to compensate it cranks the fans up incase the transmission was overheating.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey man.

im supposed to have a manual loom installed as i got some one to do it for me.

dima says:
no, the car will start as long as the neutral switch is shorted.

It will just have the thermo fans going all the time, and it will rev funny.

The resistors are placed on the black round plug under the bonnet (easiest place).. there's a doco I have here somewhere.. I'll try and find.


Cheers


u gotta short the neutral switch.(i think thats a two cord plug underneth the car.)


where abouts is this black round plug under the bonnet?

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

jees Im a d***head, Ill get out and have a look, but I dont think i did that LOL.
I had read that information from the trans was sent in resistance values to the ecu, which is why i had thought the resistor mod was needed to be done.
thanks for that ill go have a look and get back to ya on it.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

oh the black round plug is (you have a six?) sort of under/nexto the broadband manifold, its hanging off the same loom that the other square harness hooks onto as well.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

samftr wrote:
oh the black round plug is (you have a six?) sort of under/nexto the broadband manifold, its hanging off the same loom that the other square harness hooks onto as well.


oh yeh cheers man i was thinking it was under the car lol.

give it a go tomorrow/sat.

thanks

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 8

Joined: 24th Aug 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

guys this is my first time I did the auto to manual conversion 6 months ago in my ef fairmont. I put the nutreul safety switch in park and added the resistor in the loom for the temp sensor on auto. It all worked fairly good except idle was a little upredictable and occasionally when i let go of accellator it would stall. i finally found a Manaul ecu it solved all my problems.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 11:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ta jmghia96, I just took mine for a drive for the first time, its such a different vehicle to drive now! had to sort other wiring problems read lpg, but all is good. havent done the resistors yet all i have done is the fan resistor wiring so far. i have to work out which one is for the idle speed. i was going to make the computer think it was in neutral, as the idle tends to sit lower in neutral than park?

stinking sump gasket is still leaking however so i have to get in and do that again. :(

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

samftr wrote:
oh the black round plug is (you have a six?) sort of under/nexto the broadband manifold, its hanging off the same loom that the other square harness hooks onto as well.



man i cant find that plug ey.

like there r 2 square plugs where u described on the same loom but they look the same and nothing like the on in the pic?

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 795

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF f a i r m o n t

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: perth
WA, Australia

ok people i think this is where my problem is.

The standard BTR auto has 2 plugs: one is rectangular in shape which will plug straight in to your manual harness, this sends the signal for the speed sensor, reverse sensor and neutral switch. The second is a round cannon type plug which is for the auto’s only and operates your solenoids, sends the signal for the gear selector and the box oil temp sender. These last 2 items is where the idle probs and fans come in to it. The idea is to trick the ECU in to thinking that the auto is running at the right temperature and in neutral, and for this we need 2 resistors

if im running the manual harness the round auto plug wouldnt be there right?!?!?


so where do i put the resistors?

pleaase help.

 

_________________

1995 EF Fairmont with all the Gear.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mad351, Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names