Fordmods Logo

E Series EEC4 Speedo Signal 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: E Series EEC4 Speedo Signal
Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

I'm putting a 5.0 from an EB1 into a Capri with a C4. The computer needs an input from the electronic speedo sender (which I am not running). What is the nature of the signal from the speedo sender that the ECU receives - is it a pulsed signal? If so, does anyone know what frequency and voltage?

Thanks in advance

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

it is pulsed, I cant remember the frequency, however Ive got it on my data logger, Ill see if I can get it for you tomorrow if someone else cant answer the question for you.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

From memory its around 170hz at 100k
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:19 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I know it's good and propper to hook it up - but if it's extremely difficult, I wouldn't go to great lengths to get the speedo wire on there. The ECU doesn't need it to drive.

Just a thought.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 7:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

Thanks for the info so far. 170Hz would be easy to do with a 555 timer circuit. I did a 25Hz circuit for the TID signal to avoid the torque reduction so all I need to do is change a few components and it's done.

Can anyone confirm the frequency, waveform (I'm assuming square), duty cycle and voltage of the speedo sender signal at highway speed?

thanks again

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:00 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 78

Joined: 20th Mar 2007

Ride: XC UTE

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

170Hz? There are around 20 pulses per revoloution, Given that at 100Km/h the average speed for the tailshaft would be in the vicinity of 3000 rpm, and the speedo gears give roughly 3:1 reduction, I would expect to see over 300 Hz. Just my 2c.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I think your right XCMUZ, I dont remember setting my datalogger that high for the VSS conversion

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

xafalcon wrote:
Thanks for the info so far. 170Hz would be easy to do with a 555 timer circuit. I did a 25Hz circuit for the TID signal to avoid the torque reduction so all I need to do is change a few components and it's done.

Can anyone confirm the frequency, waveform (I'm assuming square), duty cycle and voltage of the speedo sender signal at highway speed?

thanks again


Like i said, it is 170hz @ 100k,
1/2 that freq for 1/2 the speed, its linear.
You wont need a speedo signal for the ecu though, it should be fine without it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 9:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

Thanks, I realise the engine will still run without the input but my manual says it will suffer a "slight loss of power" If this "slight loss of power" is anything like a missing TID signal "slight loss of power" then I need to replicate the signal for the engine computer.

Does anyone know the duty cycle, voltage and wave form of the speedo signal?

thanks again

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 7:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 119

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Palmerston North
Oustide Australia

sorry to jump in and ask a different question, but I'm after info about the C4. Just wondering what flexplate and torque converter you use. I have the 4 sp auto but i think it is dying and i'm thinking about a c4. Want to know if I can use the converter out of my 4 speed in a c4.

Couldn't you just put a ABS sensor on a wheel and get a pulse signal from that?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

Flexplate = 5.0 (for 50 oz-in imbalance the motor needs), Converter = C4 (must have large diameter bolt spacing or re-drill the flex plate)

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 1:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 119

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Palmerston North
Oustide Australia

Ah cheers. on the road to getting rid of this infernal gearbox.

Have you got any pictures of your capri?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names