Fordmods Logo

EA II BBM conversion: HELPP!!!! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA II BBM conversion: HELPP!!!!
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 32

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II

Location: Cranbourne west
VIC, Australia

Over a period of time have completed this conversion, with one small problem...The car won't start.

:!: For simplicities sake I have not changed to the EL computer, but all the rest of the components have been changed. To answer some questions the injectors have been cleaned (At a cost of $210.00 OUCH!) and using an induction timing light, there is spark at the sparkplugs. Checking the timing shows a little bit of advance, whether this is enough to prevent firing, not sure.

One further modification has been to put a 1004-112 cam in, have all these mods caused the ECU to go bonkers!? Any help will be appreciated as it is driving me NUTS!!!!! :? :? :cry: :cry:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 131

Joined: 8th Feb 2005

Location: where the cop chases are frequent and action is at your door step
QLD, Australia

EA's for one cant use the ECU from a ef/l unless you were to do a total smartlock conversion etc which would be more costly then anything..

as for the problem did you do the bbm switch, setup for the runners etc
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

what wiring changes did you make? - did you get the fuel line / return line mixed up?

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:42 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 32

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II

Location: Cranbourne west
VIC, Australia

Fords - Yes did the smartlock change (wanted the remote door lock) but still dubious as to whether it's works properly. That was a total pain job. The BBM switch wont is locked in longer mode until the vacumm is generated to hold it shut.


Jose - My first check was the injectors, thinking did I wire up wrongly...but no they are correct. Running the injectors out of the intake manifold shows theya are working...Man lucky I dont smoke.

Have to go back and check the workshop manuals once again. In the end I hope this conversion is worth it, the time and money spent is scary.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Mar 2005

Ride: falcon

Location: cairns
QLD, Australia

you need the el ecu cause the ea ecu cant handle the bbm and the el has the dissy system the ef and au has the coil go to this site www.jimmockmotorsport.com.au and read his articles on awakening the falcon sixs part two and it should explain everything

 

_________________

keep it real

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:37 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Mar 2005

Ride: falcon

Location: cairns
QLD, Australia

you might be need a aftermarket ecu but check out this web site it helped me out heaps he might even be able to help you check out were he is cause he is located in vic so it might be worth taking your car to him, he has been upgrading fords for years he the man to see

 

_________________

keep it real

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:34 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 32

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II

Location: Cranbourne west
VIC, Australia

One of those cases of "If only". Speaking to Mr. Mock when I had a stage 1 exhaust installed, he showed me his nephews (i think) modded ED with the BMM. The questimate price was $1,000, but since Brendan wasn't there couldn't really get into the nity gritty.... Have got an EL ECU, many people seem to be wiring in a shift light. The shift light is set to com'on at 3800 RPM but controls the solenoid instead of a light...pretty smart!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:51 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

asian_warrior01 wrote:
you need the el ecu cause the ea ecu cant handle the bbm and the el has the dissy system the ef and au has the coil go to this site www.jimmockmotorsport.com.au and read his articles on awakening the falcon sixs part two and it should explain everything


If you dont know what youre talking about, keep quiet.

The EA ECU will run an engine with the BBM. While its not ideal, the car will definantly start and run. Timing and fuel maps will be off at engine speeds of over 3000rpm, and of course the BBM wont switch.

Did you do this conversion to a MPEFI or CFI EA?


Converting the EA to smartlock is reasonably easy.

Obtain a BEM, Smartlock Module, Ignition Barrel and dash loom from a similar series EB2/ED falcon. Install and voila. From there you can run the EL ECU which opens the door for BBM switching and of course thermo fans. A few hours work and a couple of hundred dollars to source a complete EB2/ED dash

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 850

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Forest Lake
QLD, Australia

Waggin wrote:
asian_warrior01 wrote:
Obtain a BEM, Smartlock Module, Ignition Barrel and dash loom from a similar series EB2/ED falcon. Install and voila. From there you can run the EL ECU which opens the door for BBM switching and of course thermo fans. A few hours work and a couple of hundred dollars to source a complete EB2/ED dash


I think we DESPERATELY need a docco on this process.

 

_________________

Regards,
Punnisher_42
_____________
2003 BA Fairmont - Stock standard
1994 U13 cough Nissan Cough Bluebird

Favorite Quotes:
"Sportwagon = homo-erotic wank-fest." - downingj

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 5:56 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 32

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II

Location: Cranbourne west
VIC, Australia

The conversion was done to a MP, but owing to several things has taken seven mths! I began collecting bits and pieces ready for to attack and endow my engine with 90's technology. Has anyone done this conversion with an EL ECU (to an EAII - EB) and retained the original auto ECU? If this is possible then wiring up the computer easier.

The wife wants me to get rid of it, pride wants me to get this thing to start!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:36 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ive done the conversion with a complete EL dash and interior :P

Cant say I have any experience with the EA trans computer though, sorry.

My recommendations would be sourcing dash loom, engine bay loom and ECU loom from a EB2/ED.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:54 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 32

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II

Location: Cranbourne west
VIC, Australia

Finally got the thing to run with the EL computer but now it stumbles and does not develop power. The BBM is open at Idle, not sure what has caused this, with all the fault codes am going to have to hook up the auto.

What effect does not wiring up the A/c have, is there some strange mode or does the ECU simply compensate for the additional engine load?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

If your using the EL ECU you need to back off the timing....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: explanation please
Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Nigel, Can u explain why the timing needs to b changed? how and how much. cheers

Clive

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 912

Joined: 22nd Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: FNQ
QLD, Australia

The biggest trick with the EL ECU I found was that it takes AGES for it to drop into self test mode (ie. when you ground the test terminal and start up). Mine takes about 4 minutes before it drops into self test and I can check the timing.

EL base timing is zero - ie. lined up with the TDC mark on your EA/EB/ED timing cover, not with the 10 degree mark as for std ECU.

 

_________________

96 EF Auto GLi - Bilstein Shocks - Adjustable Front sway bar - JMM Cam - TI Perf J3 - TCI 2500/3000 stall converter. 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:01 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names