Fordmods Logo

EA Manual ECU into a ED MPI 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA Manual ECU into a ED MPI
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:40 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 10

Joined: 7th Jul 2006

Ride: Ford ED GLi

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

got a question i run a dual fuel ED and just put in a manual and havent chased up a manual mpi ecu..

what would a ea cpi actually do if i chucked it in? it runs 90% on gas so it shouldnt affect that should it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 2:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 814

Joined: 2nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ED fairmont Ghia 5 litre

Location: blue mountains
NSW, Australia

it will run like absolute s**t
as remember mpfi there is more injectors to run
so ur computer wont be able to run it

sorry bud
but mpfi computers are easy enough to get
but u should jsut use ur original auto computer form the ed until ui can get a manual ecu but u can use the resistor trick which ahs been covered on here alot just hunt around theres plenty of info on all this stuff

best of luck
Drifty

 

_________________

THE V8 OUTLAW

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 553

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Ride: Peacock EB Falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Do the resistor trick on your original ecu.

 

_________________

Wanted, CFI manifold

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:15 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 10

Joined: 7th Jul 2006

Ride: Ford ED GLi

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Do the resistor trick??

whats that suspose to stop?

i dont have stalling/idling going nuts. it runs slightly higher idle then it did prior being a manual.. only have a problem when i rev it in gear the stepper motor doesnt keep up and sometimes it restores the idle sometimes it doesnt. but thats about the worse of it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 814

Joined: 2nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ED fairmont Ghia 5 litre

Location: blue mountains
NSW, Australia

well if my calcultations are correct
idsay u now got no reverse lights :lol:
so u might wanna sort that out soon

 

_________________

THE V8 OUTLAW

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:13 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 10

Joined: 7th Jul 2006

Ride: Ford ED GLi

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

i've got reserve and netural switch and speedo working :) thats on a separate plug ;)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

I am a tad confused? run your auto ecu you won't have a drama, chase up a ED ECU, i converted a EB granted it wasn't on gas etc but i just spliced the wires to get the reverse switch and nutral safty switch and i ran the auto ecu,

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names