Fordmods Logo

eb motor into an ea 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: eb motor into an ea
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:35 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2

Joined: 27th Oct 2008

Ride: ea-eb

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

hello i have got problems i have put a eb 4.0 litre motor and 4 speed trans into my ea i was wondering if i can still use my 3.9 ecu in that or do i have to get one to suit the 4.0 litre motor and trans
I have also got a digital dash in it ( the speedo and the one that tell you if your doors are open woth the picture of the car) i need to no what ecu will run all of that thank you to any that can help plese email me at duthie_101@hotmail.com thanks

 

_________________

m.s.duthie

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

any eb or ed 4l ecu will run it,the ecu does not control the cluster.

and the most important question is.

whats in the car now

3.9 cfi or 3.9 mpfi?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The EA ECU will run it fine..

I have an ED motor in my EA and it was fine on the EA ecu.... I' ve since converted to an EL ECU, but it was fine with the EA one too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

i found when i put the 4 litre motor in my ea it didn't really run to good with the 3.9 ecu.

i changed it to a 4 litre ecu from an Eb and it runs perfectly,although the idle has always been low.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

really?? I drove around for ages with the 3.9 ghia ECU running the ED motor and noticed no difference at all.

later on I added smartlock bypass and the Auto to manual ECU resistors and converted to an EL computer and noticed a bit more power.. (and now an EL tickford ECU) but mine ran fine with the EA ECU.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

yeah,i don't know what it was,it just wouldn't run right with the 3.9 ecu in it.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:41 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 54

Posts: 3

Joined: 17th Oct 2008

Ride: nl 5.0

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I put an EB 4 litre into an EA, tried the EB ecu wouldn't work because of the smartlock, used the EA ecu and the engine bay loom from the ea also and it went beautiful
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have an EL ECU in my EA.. was dead easy to do.. just needed a smartlock bypass...

worth it as they had an extra 8ish years to tinker and improve over the EA ECU.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names