Fordmods Logo

econmy light coming on in a manual car ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: econmy light coming on in a manual car ?
Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 8:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 5

Joined: 2nd Jun 2007

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I own an ef xr6 manual falcon and on occassions the economy light will come on in the dash while im driving. when this happens the car runs really rough and practically stalls. has anyone had this problem as it is driving me crazy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 3:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

has it been converted to manual or factory?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 3:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1063

Joined: 22nd Aug 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: FG XR8, F6 F6 ute, XR5T, Capri

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hmm im not sure about the EFs.. but in the boxcars, if the "power" switch was disconnected it automatically selects "econ"

so maybe have a look at that - might be a dodge connection
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Tocchi wrote:
hmm im not sure about the EFs.. but in the boxcars, if the "power" switch was disconnected it automatically selects "econ"

so maybe have a look at that - might be a dodge connection


I have an EBII with an EL Ghia ecu (auto) thats been converted to manual and my econ light doesn't come on.

:)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 5

Joined: 2nd Jun 2007

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

shannonwulff wrote:
has it been converted to manual or factory?
Car is factory manual and has no power econ button
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

mine does it too. it's only intermittant though - i was thinking it was a smartlock issue

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 103

Joined: 1st Aug 2007

Ride: mildly worked fairmont

Location: perth
WA, Australia

mines been converted but i have a manny ecu and no problems wth the econ dash light

 

_________________

95 evlmont fairmont, 5 speed manual, 3.45lsd, rebuilt and recond, port and polished head, wade 1521a cam,ems stinger, garret 3540 1.06 rear, tial 38mm waste gate, turbosmart "supersonic" bov, bosch greentop 42lb injectors,snort log manifold, heavy duty 5 puck ceramic clutch,fmic 600x300x76,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

perhaps the light is earthing out somewhere, either electronically in the cluster, or a bare wire from the switch loom or the cluster plug.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names