Fordmods Logo

ECU changes effecting diff 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 48 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: ECU changes effecting diff
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:18 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 823

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BF Falcon SR

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

As each ECU through the EF/EL range is different, what affects will it have on the standard diff? I have a GLi and want to use a EF Ghia s2(Tickford) ECU, which is calibrated for the 3.45.1. Seeing my diff is severly underrated to the LSD, can the ECU damage my existing diff?

 

_________________

Proud owner of one of very few BF SR manual (June 06 build) :)

Nothing really says thankyou like a dollar in the waistband

[BLEMIN]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/782173

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 940

Joined: 10th Sep 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Logically, I can't see how a tickford ecu is going to damage a standard 3.08 diff. The power increase from gli to xr6 was only 7kW so the diffs didnt see that much more power or torque for that matter. I would actually say the tailshaft may be more affected as the xrs are supposed to have an alloy tailshaft, but from what i understand this is just for top speeds as the xr ecus dont have a speed limiter. Someone correct me if im wrong :)

 

_________________

5spd Heritage Green EL XR6. Wheels by ROH. Stereo by Clarion. Exhaust by Pacemaker & Lukey. Suspension by Whiteline, Durashock and K-Mac.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:19 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

None of that matters (as mentioned). What IS different is teh shoft points on for the auto trans.

As teh shift points are speed based (not RPM based). The shift points rely on having the diff the same as teh ECU is expecting. What you'll find is the 3.45 ECU will want to upshift alot sooner than what a 3.08 ECU will. This may actually make you slower.

Having said this, I went around for several months on a 3.08 ECU with a 3.45 diff, it would rev right out to rev limiter before shifting, no damage done, but the ECU swap helped smooth things out.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:01 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Hollinger
NSW, Australia

So what happens when we run 3.73:1 gears? Will the black speedo gear help so that no ECU swap is required?

 

_________________

TEAM FAT RACING

TEAM LWB

Copyright (c) 2006 Landbarge Racing. FAIRLANE and COBRA are registered trademarks owned and licenced by Ford Motor Company.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 11:48 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

The black speedo gear is for 3.45 ratio. There's no (ford part) gear for any higher ratio diff.

And that'll just fix you're speedo.

The ECU 'knows' with a 3.08 diff that red line = ~96KM/H, stick a 3.45 diff in and it'll only go to 86KM/H at redline, but the ECU will still think theres more to go, and won't force the change until you hit the rev limiter and/or back off the go pedal.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 3:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: 26th Jan 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB GLi 4.0L

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

changing the ECU wont put anything out because you'll still have the right cog on your speedo sender (ie. the 3.08 one)...

as for going for more than 3.45 gears, just get the jaycar digital speedo corrector. i've got 3.89 skyline gears and i just dialed in 16% change - no probs :P

 

_________________

EBII 4.0L GLi | T5 | 3.27 Spool | POD | KKK K27 Turbo | 600x300x76 FMIC | 40mm Wastegate (dead) | RPD Stg1 Cam | B&M Launch Control | Thermos | 3" Dump | Twin 2.25" Zorst | 197kw@3500rpm, 7psi LEAN!

To Come: Hydraulic Handbrake | Coilover Springs | Fuel Pump | Microtech MT8 | 455cc Injectors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:40 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

If teh ECU controls your auto box (manuals, V8s and early E series aside) the auto shift points will be wrong.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Slabs, can ytou tell me which wire you plumbed the Jaycar corrector into. I seem to be on the wrong one, as mine did nothing but kill my Trip Comp. Removed it and trip comp returned to normal. Also, what are the settings on your jaycar unit, in relation to resistors R1, R2 switchable likns sk1 and sk2. Any help much appreciated
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

you should disconnect the wire going into pin 3, and then plug the sensor side into the jaycar unit, and the output side of the unit back into pin 3... adjust from there...
Jaycar unit is just a frequency converter...

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Which Pin is Pin 3, need a pic please
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:56 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

just realised that you had an EF, you'll have to find an EF pinout, as I can't find one. But if you have a greogry's it should be there... Your looking for the Vehicle Speed Sensor (VSS). If you don't have any info available, gimme a yell, Id be able to dig it up for you... just requires effort :-D


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

it seems to me that changing the speedo gear is what is causing the shift point problem.

as any changes after the where the ecu gets its speed reading from will hav zero effect on the ecu as it cant 'see' it.

if you want you diff gear change to shift right with out changing the ECU just dont change your speedo gear. learn the new inticated speed for 40km/h 50 60 70 80 100 and 110.

once you drive it for while you wont even have to make an effort to remember it'l become second nature to you.

then you can have your 3.7 or 3.9 gears

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:58 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I don't see how the shift points will be different with a shorter diff... the ECU doesn't see the diff ratio, or anything. It changes gear depending on RPM and LOAD.. not to mention EB/ED ECUs didn't even have a VSS input on their ECU. am I missing something???



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:22 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

yes you missed something, ECU shifts based on SPEED, not RPMs.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

data_mine wrote:
yes you missed something, ECU shifts based on SPEED, not RPMs.


do you agree that by not changing the speedo gear shift points will not be altered at all

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names