Fordmods Logo

EF Transmission going berserk. 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: EF Transmission going berserk.
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:06 am 
Oompa Loompa

SA, Australia

I first posted this in the INT Mods forum by mistake. :oops:
Okay...I'm a newbie and I st*ffed up.

It goes like this:
Start up, select reverse, back out driveway - all ok so far.
Select 'drive' and proceed.
1-2 shift normal.
No 2-3 shift until 65 k/p/h is reached (and then sometimes only if I drop right off the go-pedal sharply)
Same M.O for 3-4 shift and so on.
** AND **
The damn thing is likely to suddenly change down a gear, at any point in the shift train - regardless of road speed or engine revs. Seems to be more likely to down-shift after normal eng temp is reached, but all other aspects of the problem are the same at any temp.
Have replaced VS sensor and checked + cleaned all earths and fusible links etc. Also noticed the int lamp globe was missing, and replaced the fuse (it was not blown - just dirty) so replaced same.

..... No change.

I just bought this EF from a newspaper classified. The woman said it was her son's car, and he had changed the auto trans and the ECU, (I'm guessing that HE was experiencing same problem) and now he has gone to prison for something, and told her to sell it. (Hmm...)

Oddest thing is, it drove well for the 120 k/m trip home!

Also seems the car has a BEM problem as I sometimes have to do the old "bash the dash" procedure to get it to even crank.
When it first started the no-start thing it also started the trans behaviour.

Still trying to hook up temporary LEDS to the switched IGN B+ lines into the ECU to see if anything is intermittent there when driving. This has been helpful for me before with this kind of thing, but I haven't done it in a Ford before.

Anyone got any ideas?

Post subject: Re: EF Transmission going berserk.
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:06 am 
Fordmods Newbie

NSW, Australia

ozharpman wrote: