Fordmods Logo

EOI: Small megasquirt group buy 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EOI: Small megasquirt group buy
Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys,

I'm chasing an expression of interest in a small group buy of megasquirts. I'm fairly keen to get one and I know other people here have expressed interest in the past.

The complete kits including everything you need to put them together and a CNC machined aluminium case are $140US (~ $180 AU ) I don't know how much shipping is or if it'll be that much cheaper to order a few of these things, but I've emailed a guy selling the kits and am waiting on his reply.

For those that know anything about them, the stimluator plug in is something that'd probably be useful to have, atleast for setting up. I was thinking that maybe we could order a handful of megasquirt kits and one stimulator kit that we could all use ? (ideally if we were all sydney based but I guess if there's enough interest it could do the rounds here and then be mailed off interstate for others to use, or maybe we could order a few ?) They're another $40US (~ $51 AU)

I'm not sure what's doing with the MSII plug in cards. Lots of people seem to have them but I can't find where they're selling them... :?

For those that don't know what a megasquirt is or want more info check out this link

http://www.megasquirt.info/

and the MS forums
http://www.msefi.com/index.php?c=2

Image

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 2:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yep, Im interested.... $180 is for what? and also I want that MS2 plugin...

When are you planning on purchasing this?
How much is postage?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Just got an email back about postage:
Shipping for 1 unit is $15 US, shipping for 5 is $48 so that's $12 AU each vs $19 for postage, not much of a saving and probably not worthwhile as far as the hassle of a 'group buy' goes.
The $180 price gets you the full kit and custom made case with holes and slots drilled for all the connectors. I'm guessing the case costs around $15US and the rest is for the components. You can buy the PCB + processor and all the components seperately yourself but it's more stuffing around and only a few bucks more do buy it as a complete kit.

With the MS II plug in cards, the only people who have them now are
the beta testers and they're running prototypes. The guy who 'invented' them posted to the MS forums that the PC boards have been fabricated and are at the contract manufacturer for installation of the components (they're all surface mount from what I can gather?). They
should be available in the next few weeks.

So it's probably worthwhile hanging out a few weeks and seeing what happens with them.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

What do you mean by the stimulator. I'm guessing that would be a hand controller or Visual Display of some sort. I'm keen for one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 4:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 3516

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

[self-deleted]

Last edited by blackjack_original on Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I agree with waiting for MSII, it's a big improvement, for a small nothing.

As for the simulator, it fakes or mimics what would happen in your engine, well sort of, when it would inject, things like that, so you can tune it on your bench.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

FYI, it may work out cheapr to purchase them seperately because imports under $250AUS do not have the 10% GST or 5-15% import duty (not sure what % it is for electronics) added to them. If you import multiple units, the price will go over that $250 limit and you will have to pay those fees.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 10:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Id be in on a group buy, what i need to know is: what would be required to get it up and running on my ED - would it work with my standard sensors etc? and will it play havoc with my tripcomp or anything else?

- also what about the realay board would it be needed (rather than screwing around with heaps of realays for all different stuff)

- im just worried about the practical side of things, if its gonna be a huge task setting it up and getting it running (properly) id rather just bite the bullet and get a wolf 3d

Ok i read their site a bit more and answred some of my own questions, it looks like a great unit, able to do everything we'd need of it, im still worried about the getting it up and running (a programmer i am not) - could i just buy it and wait around for someone else to get theirs running well, then borrow their maps+code for it (tuning doesnt seem to be a problem, as they had some utilities to create fuel maps etc from logged AFR data. im kinda excited now.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 12:33 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Megasquirt requires knowledge to assemble, not to run. They have MegaTune or something, its easy to tune.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EDXR8 wrote:
FYI, it may work out cheapr to purchase them seperately because imports under $250AUS do not have the 10% GST or 5-15% import duty (not sure what % it is for electronics) added to them. If you import multiple units, the price will go over that $250 limit and you will have to pay those fees.


All duty on goods originating from teh US is now duty free. That is as of 1 Jan 2005
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

JOSE wrote:
Id be in on a group buy, what i need to know is: what would be required to get it up and running on my ED - would it work with my standard sensors etc? and will it play havoc with my tripcomp or anything else?

- also what about the realay board would it be needed (rather than screwing around with heaps of realays for all different stuff)

- im just worried about the practical side of things, if its gonna be a huge task setting it up and getting it running (properly) id rather just bite the bullet and get a wolf 3d

Ok i read their site a bit more and answred some of my own questions, it looks like a great unit, able to do everything we'd need of it, im still worried about the getting it up and running (a programmer i am not) - could i just buy it and wait around for someone else to get theirs running well, then borrow their maps+code for it (tuning doesnt seem to be a problem, as they had some utilities to create fuel maps etc from logged AFR data. im kinda excited now.


Your trip computer will not work. That interfaces with the ford ECU and looks at injector duty cycle to calculate economy.

You don't have to worry about a relay board. You only need this when you're putting EFI on a non EFI car and all the wiring needs to be done from scratch.

You can configure MS to use ANY sensor as long as you know the specs of the sensor. Other wise you can replae them with sensors that you do know the specs for. It's only temp sensors you need to worry about.

If you guys do this, I can offer assistance as I have built one and got it running on my car. When you do this, you will learn SO much about tuning it's not funny. If you thing you know how an injection system on a car works now, I'm telling you, you probably don't know squat!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 12:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

unclewoja wrote:
All duty on goods originating from teh US is now duty free. That is as of 1 Jan 2005


Not true, there are still charges but they are hevily reduced if they come from the US. I just recieved an email from customs and it looks like most things from the US are 5% now, so you would be looking at 5% duty plus 10% GST.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

unclewoja wrote:
JOSE wrote:
Id be in on a group buy, what i need to know is: what would be required to get it up and running on my ED - would it work with my standard sensors etc? and will it play havoc with my tripcomp or anything else?

- also what about the realay board would it be needed (rather than screwing around with heaps of realays for all different stuff)

- im just worried about the practical side of things, if its gonna be a huge task setting it up and getting it running (properly) id rather just bite the bullet and get a wolf 3d

Ok i read their site a bit more and answred some of my own questions, it looks like a great unit, able to do everything we'd need of it, im still worried about the getting it up and running (a programmer i am not) - could i just buy it and wait around for someone else to get theirs running well, then borrow their maps+code for it (tuning doesnt seem to be a problem, as they had some utilities to create fuel maps etc from logged AFR data. im kinda excited now.


Your trip computer will not work. That interfaces with the ford ECU and looks at injector duty cycle to calculate economy.

You don't have to worry about a relay board. You only need this when you're putting EFI on a non EFI car and all the wiring needs to be done from scratch.

You can configure MS to use ANY sensor as long as you know the specs of the sensor. Other wise you can replae them with sensors that you do know the specs for. It's only temp sensors you need to worry about.

If you guys do this, I can offer assistance as I have built one and got it running on my car. When you do this, you will learn SO much about tuning it's not funny. If you thing you know how an injection system on a car works now, I'm telling you, you probably don't know squat!


how many RPM points does it have?? and how many load points at each RPM point does it have??
are the RPM points user defineable??

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

unclewoja wrote:
Your trip computer will not work. That interfaces with the ford ECU and looks at injector duty cycle to calculate economy.

If you guys do this, I can offer assistance as I have built one and got it running on my car. When you do this, you will learn SO much about tuning it's not funny. If you thing you know how an injection system on a car works now, I'm telling you, you probably don't know squat!


Damn, id like to keep my tripcomp (not a huge prob though, the novelty has worn off), does anyone know if it would be possible to keep my standard ECU and get it to run the tripcomp, or make some kind of device to calculate the injector duty cycle for it ( i thought it used injector pulse width to calculate fuel usage - if so could it run directly form MS?)

Thanks for the offer of assisatnce, once i get a couple of (BIG) things fixed on my car i will probably buy one of these kits.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 9:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
how many RPM points does it have?? and how many load points at each RPM point does it have??
are the RPM points user defineable??

According to the MS forums the standard MS has 100 RPM resolution but apparently you can rewrite the code to improve this (you can rewrite the code to make it do just about anything!)

I don't know if the MSII is any better in that particular respect, but I'm going to hang out for it regardless. It's been "coming soon" for ages but it seems that it really is only a few weeks away now.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names