Fordmods Logo

Finally. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Finally.
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

Check this out. Not cheap (the price is in US dollars) but definitely worth it.

http://egauges.com/vdo_ind.asp?Type=Air ... N=ATM-4378

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1239

Joined: 1st Jul 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF XR8 & 2002 GSXR-1000

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Holy crap!!! Damn right its not cheap.

 

_________________

The fast fun: Suzuki GSXR1000
The one I use when I can't use the fast fun: Blown EF XR8

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

Kilma wrote:
Holy crap!!! Damn right its not cheap.
No it,s not but it opens up a whole new world of oportunities for those of us who like to tune our own cars. :wink:

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

being auto meter brand and for what it does if i was chasing one id buy it

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Have I missed something? Its a guage and sensor but no controller?

BTW - there are cheaper wideband setups out there ;)

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

This doesnt look like the best thing if you actually want to tune. You would need something to datalog to do that properly wouldnt you?

This doesnt appear to do that kind of thing.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

It's a sight better than previous autometer gauges, and data logger isnt essential. And true there are other wideband setups but none are as easy on the eye IMO.

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Some of the innovate guages look good IMO ($229 USD for the guage)

Image

Ive used techedge wideband controllers. Havent got the eye candy of the autometer but heaps of functionality. This is one I put together a few weeks ago.

Image

Also stuck a techedge external display on the dash - very effective at night

Image

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Some of the innovate guages look good IMO ($229 USD for the guage)

Image

Ive used techedge wideband controllers. Havent got the eye candy of the autometer but heaps of functionality. This is one I put together a few weeks ago.

Image

Also stuck a techedge external display on the dash - very effective at night

Image
Out of curiosity, what does a wideband O2 sensor cost on it's own?

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

seton005 wrote:
Out of curiosity, what does a wideband O2 sensor cost on it's own?


The sensors are cheap - about $90. Then you need a controller which is $300+. As you know, displays are expensive as well.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
seton005 wrote:
Out of curiosity, what does a wideband O2 sensor cost on it's own?


The sensors are cheap - about $90. Then you need a controller which is $300+. As you know, displays are expensive as well.
I thought wideband sensors were dear as s**t. This Autometer one seams like a decent deal then considering it comes with everything including sensor. And if you check my gallery you'll see than anything other than this one would look out of place. 8-)

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

seton005 wrote:
stockstandard wrote:
seton005 wrote:
Out of curiosity, what does a wideband O2 sensor cost on it's own?


The sensors are cheap - about $90. Then you need a controller which is $300+. As you know, displays are expensive as well.
I thought wideband sensors were dear as s**t. This Autometer one seams like a decent deal then considering it comes with everything including sensor. And if you check my gallery you'll see than anything other than this one would look out of place. 8-)


It doesnt say it comes with a controller though (maybe it does and i missed it). Widebands are expensive only because they need the controller. You cant just put the sensor in and wire it up to a guage.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

^ what he said! WB02 is not just a passive sensor like a narrowband.

2 completely different kettle of fish.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

What is the controller needed for? This gauge appears to be a kit, everything to make the gauge work properly.

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

In short, the controller makes the wideband sensor work. You install the sensor, wire it to the controller, then the controller outputs the correct voltage to the guage and ECU.

Also if you plan on tuning with it you DEFINATELY want datalogging at some point, either in the controller or with the ECU.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:45 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names