Fordmods Logo

GLi ECU swap to XR ECU? AU series 2. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: GLi ECU swap to XR ECU? AU series 2.
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Would the engine hate it if you swapped a GLi ECU from an AU series 2 I6 with a AU series 2 XR6?

I know the XR6 has got a different cam and the exhaust valves are larger but would a GLi engine with an XR6 ECU cause problems?
The GLi engine I refer to has a SS cold air intake and extractors and exhaust system.
Cheers

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Bump.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

G'day Pete, I wouldn't have thought there would be any difference with the AU ECU's. The only thing i could think of would be that there is no speed limiter in the XR6 ECU.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 1:05 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fordman351 wrote:
G'day Pete, I wouldn't have thought there would be any difference with the AU ECU's. The only thing i could think of would be that there is no speed limiter in the XR6 ECU.


mm also autoxr's have adaptive shift wich is a cool thing

not sure if u can put a au ecu in a Ef

u can try with mine, auto xr6
but if it dies u up for a new 1

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:

mm also autoxr's have adaptive shift wich is a cool thing

not sure if u can put a au ecu in a Ef

u can try with mine, auto xr6
but if it dies u up for a new 1


Nah it not going into an EF. Its an AU 2 of a mates. He wanted the speed limiter gone. I wasnt sure if the XR is mapped differently to a standard Falcon.
I'll let him know its good to go.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 4:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Mont ZL Lane 4x4 Bronco

Location: Widebay
QLD, Australia

I think you have to get the ECU re-encoded (linked) to BEM @ Ford?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

fordman351 wrote:
G'day Pete, I wouldn't have thought there would be any difference with the AU ECU's. The only thing i could think of would be that there is no speed limiter in the XR6 ECU.


they have completly different spark and feul maps.

on topic the engine should run fine all thought i dont thing there is need for you to do it.

perhaps you should be looking at a larger cam first

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Nah he doesnt want more power just the limiter gone.

If the different fuel and spark maps wont affect his car I'll tell him to source one.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

its obviously only a hp and not a vct yeah Pete?
just make sure he doesnt get a vct ecu!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah will do nick. Its not a VCT.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names