Fordmods Logo

Help me again! Damm Piggy backs! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Help me again! Damm Piggy backs!
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ok guys! Haltech was nice enough to FINALLY send me the correct wiring diagram! One problem, They didnt include the speed limiter removal part. I am thinking that it is Pin 3 (White Wire) This wire communicates the road speed with the dash and cruise computer. It is fed to the ECU from the Dash. What do you guys think, am I on a winner?

Thanks guys!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:01 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

dunno try it and see?

call em up and ask?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
dunno try it and see?

call em up and ask?


I am tempted to just cut it and see what happens. It can allways be rejoined.

I dont really wanna call them again. Took them about a month to get me the diagram in the first place and even then, they had to custom write one for me!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:00 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

meh
cut it and see!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 3025

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA MKII XR8

Location: Caroline Springs
VIC, Australia

wadesta_1986 wrote:
Disco Frank wrote:
dunno try it and see?

call em up and ask?


I am tempted to just cut it and see what happens. It can allways be rejoined.

I dont really wanna call them again. Took them about a month to get me the diagram in the first place and even then, they had to custom write one for me!


f**k 'em!!! If you purchased the product from them, they help you with any aftersale issues. It's what any respectable business should be more than happy to do! :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help me again! Damm Piggy backs!
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

wadesta_1986 wrote:
Ok guys! Haltech was nice enough to FINALLY send me the correct wiring diagram! One problem, They didnt include the speed limiter removal part. I am thinking that it is Pin 3 (White Wire) This wire communicates the road speed with the dash and cruise computer. It is fed to the ECU from the Dash. What do you guys think, am I on a winner?

Thanks guys!


Your analysis of the wiring of the VSS signal is accurate. VSS -> Dash -> ECU.

Id wager that the haltech's speed limit removal function is simply some sort of fuel cut defender which intercepts the VSS signal and tells the ECU that "were still not doing 180".

Wiring is probably fairly simple... i imagine VSS signal comes from the dash, into the intercpetor unit, which passes it on to the ECU... calibrating the thing would be interesting - do you have the info on how that is done?

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Well guys, some of you would be interested to know that cutting the wire from pin 3 of the ecu (A White One) defeats the speed limiter. The interceptor isnt required to do this. The car still drives the same, none of the instruments are acting differently or anything.

As for the Interceptor, Their wiring diagram sucks balls! I tried it and the MAP sensor readings are jumpie while the engine isnt doing anything! The jump from -14psi to 3psi! How can I be getting up to 3 psi when the car isnt running and I am not running forced induction yet! I am thinking I might just take it back and run the EMS 8860 or somthing! Why not, If I am going to get this turbo project right, I may as well spend the money! Meh, One stint of the new job that I may be getting would pay for the lot anyway!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 535

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Ride: EF wagon & EF fairmont wagon & M

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ooooooooooooooooooooooooh yeah I will try this...pin 3 eh?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

wadesta_1986 wrote:
Well guys, some of you would be interested to know that cutting the wire from pin 3 of the ecu (A White One) defeats the speed limiter. The interceptor isnt required to do this. The car still drives the same, none of the instruments are acting differently or anything.

As for the Interceptor, Their wiring diagram sucks balls! I tried it and the MAP sensor readings are jumpie while the engine isnt doing anything! The jump from -14psi to 3psi! How can I be getting up to 3 psi when the car isnt running and I am not running forced induction yet! I am thinking I might just take it back and run the EMS 8860 or somthing! Why not, If I am going to get this turbo project right, I may as well spend the money! Meh, One stint of the new job that I may be getting would pay for the lot anyway!


Ah... you have a 5 speed. If it were auto you'd be in strife. I guess so long as there is no torque reduction tags in your EEC then it should be fine. Expect to see error codes if you run a diagnostic :)

Regarding the MAP signals - the Ford MAP sensor provides a signal with changing frequency. Haltech may be expecting the signal to be a changing voltage. Easy enough to fix... get a MAP sensor from a different car :)

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

4.9 EF Futura wrote:
wadesta_1986 wrote:
Well guys, some of you would be interested to know that cutting the wire from pin 3 of the ecu (A White One) defeats the speed limiter. The interceptor isnt required to do this. The car still drives the same, none of the instruments are acting differently or anything.

As for the Interceptor, Their wiring diagram sucks balls! I tried it and the MAP sensor readings are jumpie while the engine isnt doing anything! The jump from -14psi to 3psi! How can I be getting up to 3 psi when the car isnt running and I am not running forced induction yet! I am thinking I might just take it back and run the EMS 8860 or somthing! Why not, If I am going to get this turbo project right, I may as well spend the money! Meh, One stint of the new job that I may be getting would pay for the lot anyway!



Ah... you have a 5 speed. If it were auto you'd be in strife. I guess so long as there is no torque reduction tags in your EEC then it should be fine. Expect to see error codes if you run a diagnostic :)

Regarding the MAP signals - the Ford MAP sensor provides a signal with changing frequency. Haltech may be expecting the signal to be a changing voltage. Easy enough to fix... get a MAP sensor from a different car :)


Yea Martin, Bang on the money with the gearbox! Its a 5spd!

That would explain alot the problems regarding the MAP. Since i am going to be running 15psi of boost, I would probably be better off getting a new 2bar map sensor wouldn't I?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

2 bar MAP would be fine IMO.

http://www.capa.com.au/prices_capa_perf ... electronic

$140 from CAPA....

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol, I was about to say I would go and give the plastic a hammering at CAPA!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Also, the other problem I am having is with the ignition side of things. They said the cut and connect into pin 56 which heads into the TFI module. According to the gregories wiring diagram and their wiring diagram, this should be a brown wire, yet on my ECU, its a black wire! When I cut it and connect to it, the car dosent start. Does this mean I will have to install a different sensor or even try a different TFI module?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Dont go by colours... count the wires on the loom plug...

56 is the profile ignition pickup from the TFI module... i imagine there is also some wiring required to the SPOUT signal??

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yea, I have been looking down into the ECU Plug and matching the numbers. My inital thaught was that you would go SPOUT as this would allow timing changes. At the same time, If it is intercepting the PIP, it could tell the factory ECU the pickup is going past, when it insnt, or viser versa. On the Haltech programmer, this wire also controls the RPM points for the Interceptor Map so no RPM points, not a very good tune. I have heard of ppl running the interceptor in their AU's. Would an AU TFI module coreect this or are they all the same?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names