Fordmods Logo

Help me read my ECU fault codes! Now with video! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Help me read my ECU fault codes! Now with video!
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:44 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

Hey guys, in an effort to get my old EF back to shipshape, i had a go at reading the ECU error codes as documented in the tech section. I guess i'm not the brightest spark as i just cant for the life of me work out what it's trying to say. Would you gents kindly take a look at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bhQ9qOZWiK8 and maybe interpret it for me? I'd be much obliged!

Cheers,
Dan

[Edit - link for the tech article - http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=52]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:34 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

Aww c'mon, i know a lot of you have done it, surely you can help me out!?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:39 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

so much easier with an LED

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

I dunno man, I get 111 + 214 out of that.

111 = Pass
and hard code
214 = CMP sensor input faided

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

So....what's a CMP sensor?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Definately 111 then 214. CMP is camshaft position sensor.

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:35 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

Ah crap not the CMP. It had to be the one sensor i can't really do myself eh? Typical!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

dsjoyce wrote:
Ah crap not the CMP. It had to be the one sensor i can't really do myself eh? Typical!
read the posts over the last 2-3 days,this is covered and tells you how to change it,read them all,it seems to be easy but time consuming,doing it right. :wink: :wink: :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:08 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey mate, as above the error code you're getting is 214, which is CMP (Cam position sensor). Im not sure what you're trying to resolve, but I doubt it's affecting anything, as these little buggers in the EF don't do much at all.

What are your symptoms?

Oh and they are piss easy to change, I just wouldn't bother.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:27 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

justfordima wrote:
Hey mate, as above the error code you're getting is 214, which is CMP (Cam position sensor). Im not sure what you're trying to resolve, but I doubt it's affecting anything, as these little buggers in the EF don't do much at all.

What are your symptoms?

Oh and they are piss easy to change, I just wouldn't bother.

Cheers


Thanks for your help mate, much appreciated. It all stems from an incident that happened the other day, which i've outlined in this thread - http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... sc&start=0

Basically the engine made a bang (i'm assuming a backfire/missfire) and died on me. I thought i'd put a piston through the block! Scared the bejesus out of me. Anyway the boys reckon leads are the most likely culprit so i'll be grabbing some of them tomorrow. Should be a fun job! The car also has a rough idle and seems to lose power when putting my foot down on occasion.

Surely the CMP does something? I'll chuck in those new leads, reset the clear the ECU fault memory and see how we go
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:45 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah, see how you go with the new leads. And no, the CMP sensor can be safely unplugged and be left to die. They do something, but nothing of importance. (Since EFs aren't sequentially injected).

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names