Fordmods Logo

help 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: help
Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 13

Joined: 29th Mar 2009

Ride: xf ute/xg ute

Location: st marys
NSW, Australia

Hi i just got the J3 chip and progammer,im have trouble getting it 2 work,all i wont 2 do is turn the rev limiter off and the anti stall for now,it is a 1993 pre smart lock XG ute with 4 speed auto it would be great if some one can help,thanks daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

xfute351 wrote:
Hi i just got the J3 chip and progammer,im have trouble getting it 2 work,all i wont 2 do is turn the rev limiter off and the anti stall for now,it is a 1993 pre smart lock XG ute with 4 speed auto it would be great if some one can help,thanks daniel


Why do u want to turn the rev limiter off? There is a member on here (sorry cant remember the name) that did turn his off and ended with some pretty extensive damage to the car on a dyno machine.

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:43 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 13

Joined: 29th Mar 2009

Ride: xf ute/xg ute

Location: st marys
NSW, Australia

comhelp wrote:
xfute351 wrote:
Hi i just got the J3 chip and progammer,im have trouble getting it 2 work,all i wont 2 do is turn the rev limiter off and the anti stall for now,it is a 1993 pre smart lock XG ute with 4 speed auto it would be great if some one can help,thanks daniel


Why do u want to turn the rev limiter off? There is a member on here (sorry cant remember the name) that did turn his off and ended with some pretty extensive damage to the car on a dyno machine.


Hi the reason i want the rev limter off is because i put 4.11 diff gears in,when u floor it,it hitts the limiter before it changes gear,and when i stall it hard at the line the anti stall kicks in?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Have you upgraded the driveline? have you put in loop devices for your tailshaft? Are you drag racing this car?

Me personally would only EVER consider turning off the rev limiter IF the car was a full-time racing car and alot of money has been spent on it. Have a look at the V8 race cars, even they have a rev limiter on them. The rev limiters are there for a reason.

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Best way around this problem is to use an XD sendor for the box, a green tooth and that will make your speedo accurate. Then use a LHM module from shiftkits.com, and tap into the speedo in line on the ECU, adjust as required. This will allow full control of the auto and make the speedo correct at the same time
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:00 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

comhelp wrote:
xfute351 wrote:
Hi i just got the J3 chip and progammer,im have trouble getting it 2 work,all i wont 2 do is turn the rev limiter off and the anti stall for now,it is a 1993 pre smart lock XG ute with 4 speed auto it would be great if some one can help,thanks daniel


Why do u want to turn the rev limiter off? There is a member on here (sorry cant remember the name) that did turn his off and ended with some pretty extensive damage to the car on a dyno machine.


i think your refering to datamine??
it was the speed limiter he removed when it self destructed on the dyno!! not the rev limiter...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yep thats him :mrgreen:

I thought that he said that he removed his speed limiter AND rev limiter and it was a combination of both? :?

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:08 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

comhelp wrote:
Yep thats him :mrgreen:

I thought that he said that he removed his speed limiter AND rev limiter and it was a combination of both? :?


yea ..without going to far off topic..
as one stage i beleive he had also removed his rev limiter aswell..
but it was the lack of the speed limiter that did the damage.

but in saying that i have no speed limiter and my rev limiter set now at 6000rpm and no problems.
but mine being a manual makes the difference...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

xfute351 wrote:
Hi i just got the J3 chip and progammer,im have trouble getting it 2 work,all i wont 2 do is turn the rev limiter off and the anti stall for now,it is a 1993 pre smart lock XG ute with 4 speed auto it would be great if some one can help,thanks daniel


What ECU are you using? As I understand it, you need to have an EL ECU for the J3 chip to actually work. It doesn't work with the EA-ED/XH ECU.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: help
Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Thanks guys, I am handling this via PM.

Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names