Fordmods Logo

how to install smartlock or bypass it?? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: how to install smartlock or bypass it??
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:19 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14397

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

hi guys

im about to convert my ea over to broadband manifold and as some of you know to take advantage of the bbm you can use a el ecu ..
but my car does not have smartlock so ive got two options..
1) is to install smartlock. but i need to know whats involved and what i need to make it work??

2) is to bypass it but how do i do that. ive heard about bypassing smartlock but who makes the bypass??
or can someone tell me how to bypass it my self??

thanks..

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 2:00 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 359

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII T5

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

as i see it, bypassing smartlock in a car that HAS smartlock, is to wire another ignition barrel in line with the existing barrel, sticking a key in it and turning it to the right. That tricks smartlock into thinking that there is a key in the original ignition

Not too sure if its possible to bypass smartlock on a car that doesnt have it?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 2:14 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14397

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

ok

well all i really want to do is use the el ecu. im just triying get around the smartlock ..

i mean if i could just run a extra wire to the el ecu so it thinks the smartlock is disabled.. that would do..

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2816

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

well, at a guess wire in a BEM with an ignition barrel and key in it, so that when you turn the key (your original one) the ECU looks for the signal it wants from the BEM and gets it

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 4:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

There is a module you can buy that you wire into the EL ecu that basically tells it that the smartlock is there and everything is OK. I think JMM sell them, and the price is around $300 :shock:

I also noticed one in the for sale section the other week for $60

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 4:58 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14397

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

ok thanks
i post in the wanted section aswell for a el ecu because i havnt got one yet.. does any know the part number for a el ecu..
im also looking for a manual one i guess theres not much chance of getting one of them..lol

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
ok thanks
i post in the wanted section aswell for a el ecu because i havnt got one yet.. does any know the part number for a el ecu..
im also looking for a manual one i guess theres not much chance of getting one of them..lol


There are lots of part numbers for EL ecu's.

Best bet would be to call some wreckers (or site sponsors). If they dont have one they will probably be able to find one for you.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:22 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14397

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

i might try contact FTG
as the wreckers around here suck i ask them and they say bring your old one in so we can match it up ..
when i say i dont have one to mach it up they say well without the part number we cant help you..(wankers)

thanks for your help so far...

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:45 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 108

Joined: 12th Feb 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF POWERED EA

Location: christchurch
New Zealand

good guestion
Im putting ef motor in my ea going to run eb- ed loom not sure wether to run eb-ed ecu and see how she goes or run el ecu and either install smart lock or by pass it
Is it difficult to install?

 

_________________

EF POWERED EA
PACEMAKER EXTRACTERS
2.5 INCH EXHAUST POD filter
18 inch versus rims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Smartlock Info
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 11th Dec 2004

Ride: AUIII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Guys, did some investigation of this a while ago....was investigating EL XR8 motor into an XE.
The ECU (ED/EF/EL) needs the Smartlock code to operate... will not start the engine otherwise.
The Smartlock code is a complex data stream issued out of the BEM.... it is not just a simple voltage level..... the ECU decodes the data stream and if correct, starts the engine.
For the BEM to issue the data stream, it needs a valid unlock message from the ignition barrel (the ignition barrel has a bunch of electronics within it as well).

Two options around fitting a Smartlock equipped ECU to an older model vehicle:-
1. Install the ignition barrel and BEM from the model vehicle matching the ECU.
2. Install a Smartlock bypass module from JMM - this module generates the complex codes needed to enable the ECU.

I think there was someone else selling the module but the price sounded higher than the JMM unit.... not sure who the company was.

Hope that helps.

And yeah, manual ECUs are hard to find (at reasonable prices)... have had an eye peeled for one of those for ages... no joy so far.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:09 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 17

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: 1993 ED Falcon XR6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

what about the other way round. if i want to put an EL engine and a full aftermarket engine management system into an ED will the engine run off the new EMS without any smartlock crap or will i have to fool smartlock that its still attached to a factory ecu?

 

_________________

10/93 ED XR6 - Dynamic White - 5 Speed - 3.45LSD
Info Here

Follow Me To Clear Mountain - Attack Corners, Not Lebs

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 5200

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

It's a shame this has gone MIA: http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=28564

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

can't you just activate the bbm using an rpm trigger of some type?

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:44 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14397

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
can't you just activate the bbm using an rpm trigger of some type?


yea i can but the el has different fuel and timing maps..
in my case the engine is pinging on the short runners of the manifold..
and to overcome the pinging i have set the base timing to 4 deg instead of 10 deg .. it doesnt ping now but it goes like a dog!!

to get the best from the bbm i need a el ecu.. and i need to get around smartlock..

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 4:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 11th Dec 2004

Ride: AUIII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

JimMockMotorsport have smartlock bypass modules available... give them a try.

They also do a flasher thingie with BBM switching on your original ECU.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 7:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names