Fordmods Logo

Instlaling an EL LPG conversion into an EF 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Post subject: Instlaling an EL LPG conversion into an EF
Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 12:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

New Zealand

I own a 1996 EF Fairmont and am in the process of installing a LPG conversion kit from an EL Falcon. I used to work in the CNG business so I have a good understanding of the mechanical parts of the kit. I have the complete kit including the ECU from the EL.

To get an LPG kit to operate properly I'm going to need to do two things.

1. Turn off the petrol injection.
2. Set the timing appropriate to the LPG kit

If I can install the EL's ECU into the EF then this should solve both of these problems. The obvious consequence is that the EL's petrol map may not be ideal. However I'm not intending to use Petrol much once I've got the LPG system working.

Can I just plug in the EL's computer work in the EF? Will it burst into flames if I just try it?

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:55 pm 
Parts Gopher

QLD, Australia

I think you will find that the Ef and El computers have different numbers of pins on the connector and are not interchangable
Station-rat 8-)

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways

[self-deleted]

Last edited by blackjack_original on Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

New Zealand

Ok. That means I'm back to finding an alternative way of advancing the timing a little or just leaving it where it is and accepting it as a bad compromise.

I take it that the best method of advancing the timing is to rotate the ignition pickup (distributor substitute) by a few degrees and then use an electronic gismo to retard the timing again back to the correct setting for Petrol. Presumably the retarding could be done by the LPG computer if I had the right information.