Fordmods Logo

its still happening. only worse this time 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: its still happening. only worse this time
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i need help, my car keeps blowing the computer. what i thorght was the trailor plug connection today proved it wasnt. i removed the trailor plug a week ago and installed a new ECU. but today when i flicked the highbeams on for my daughter everything went dead. a quick computer change to CPI computer and i got it running. a tap on the brake and again dead... i unplugged the tail light and the car started again. i got it back in the carport and i swapped ECU's back and started the car. but i switched the headlights on (parkers worked perfect) it went dead and didnt come back.

apparently the headlights arnt grounding properly and are grounding through the computer which is shorting the computer


i changed the relays and the lights just kept blowing the relays.

WHATS GOING ON????? :cry:

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

just a thorght. i might unplug the headlights again as i had them off when i moved the car today.

it may be a f**k bulb or wireing around the headlight? i am hoping so.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:51 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 172

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

mightbe stuffed wiring insulation? power is touching a ground wire somewhere?

 

_________________

2002 BA XT: Painted calipers, K&N pod filter, Pioneer head unit, Fusion sub and amp, driving lights, spoiler, 19" rims, twin 2.25" exhaust with quad tips.

Soon to come... Pacemaker Extractors, supercharger.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

check the ground wires on the battery terminal, and also the buss bar on the positive side for corrosion.
There should be two or more smaller ground wires on the batt - teminal
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yeah there is 3 small and one large. i also added one to the block as we had coil issues a while back.

i will strip the terminals and redo them all friday after work.

cheers so far guys.

i will have my XR headlights put on in a week. cant wait but i need this issue sorted first

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:10 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 14th Feb 2007

Location: toowoomba
QLD, Australia

that sucks dude, where are you getting all these ecu's from?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i had 4 ecu's from my wrecks ect. but it blew them all. then i got one from a member on here but ended being CPI. then 2 EL computers (wont run the car due to smartlock) and then my mate found an EA MPFI one the other night so he gave it to me.

problem is i still need more :P i just dont wanna pay 70 bucks for them

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:38 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Open up one of the blown ECU's and look around for a burnt track. You need to find out what part of the ECU is "blowing" in order to accurately trace where your problem is. You could be losing a negative track, a component, or something main on the positive rail. Tracing this to the pin it goes to might shed some light on where to start looking.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

well it doesnt fully blow tho. i leave it a few minutes and it will start again. it has to be the rear lights. weather i brake or put the lights on it blows... i thorght it was the brakes last time but when i flicked the headlights it shorted meaning its not the brake line. im going to check the rear wireing on the car.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:46 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I heard a story once where someone put the wrong spade lug onto the brake switch and blew fuses every time they pressed the brake. Something to loko into maybe.

Have you tried pulling all the bulbs out of the rear lights?

Also, unplug the rears completely and retest.

If it doesn't blow, plug in just one side, test, then plug in the other and test.

If it blows regardless, disconnect the harness further up the loom (if there is a plug - i've never done a loom so don't know)

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

we have never replaced the brake light switch. and it ran like nothing was wrong for 2 days. i did have the drivers side rear light out as i test fitted my clear EB ones for fun. altho i disconnected the light again yesterday when it was cutting out and it still happened.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Disconnect both the rear lights, unplug the headlights and remove the low and hi beam relays. If it still blows, you know its not the power circuit, and you can look at the control side. You've got to separate the car into electrical pieces in order to diagnose the short.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

If you have major problem that you can't fix, i would be inclined to go to a wreckers and find a EBII with smartlock, take all the looms out (not to hard if you know these cars) and put it into yours. Then you will have a smartlock equipped EA :)

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

That would be a wise move, change all of the wiring, engine and all.
One of the probs is that the wiring loom near the battery can get damaged by acid from the battery.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

if i was to swap all the loom i might aswell just buy another falcon...


too much work for what it is.

ill try the lights tomorrow after work

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:49 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names