Fordmods Logo

_ Jaycar/autospeed Air/fuel Smart Mixture Meter, work in ef? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: _ Jaycar/autospeed Air/fuel Smart Mixture Meter, work in ef?
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 205

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

Has anyone installed an air/fuel mixture meter into their EF.

one of these: http://www.autospeed.com.au/cms/A_2191/article.html

I was going to buy one the other day but i've read that they have problems working with the MAP sensor :
"when using map sensor, the voltage will go high whenever the throttle is snapped open. this may cause false readings as the air/fuel ratio wont immediately go rich"

I emailed autospeed but he only said that It’s the lean-out alarm part o f the system that won’t work correctly with a MAP sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: _ Jaycar/autospeed Air/fuel Smart Mixture Meter, work in ef?
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

I had one of these in my VL back in the day.
They work well, but are only a guide, and need to be calibrated with a known meter to get accurate readings. I wouldnt trust one for tuning purposes, but the look cool when mounted. Mine was mounted in one of the air vents
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: _ Jaycar/autospeed Air/fuel Smart Mixture Meter, work in ef?
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:01 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 205

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

does the VL run a map sensor??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: _ Jaycar/autospeed Air/fuel Smart Mixture Meter, work in ef?
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The problem with this is that the EA-EL use a MAP sensor that is PWM based. If you got your hands on an analog MAP sensor perhaps that would help, or modify an AU TMAP sensor?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names