Fordmods Logo

keep blowing computers (4 in 10 minutes) 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: keep blowing computers (4 in 10 minutes)
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hey all, im having some issues with dads old EA, a few weeks ago we lost the gearbox completely, the reverse went, then in D we only had 1st. then it sat out the front for a few weeks, then i went to move it. now on idle it was all jumpy as if it was in drive, when i moved it ran smooth but as soon as i stopped it tried to stall. the dash lights would then flash on and off at the same time the motor was cutting out then back in... we finially got it down the side.

a few days later we tried to move it again and we got nothing... no even a click or light. thinking it was the battery i changed it with mine and still nothing. i checked all fuses and relays and ended up swapping computers. the dash lit up and i turned the key and it started. i put my foot on the brake to drop it into drive and it all died. again no lights. another computer prooved no different. finially after 4 computers dieing i have put it down to either a deadly short in the braking system weather it be wireing or booster itself (altho only replaced 6 months ago) or the gearbox computer is gone.


if it is the gearbox computer it wont explain why it blew the computers when i touched the brake.

oh also when i finially got it running before it killed computer number 2, i planted my foot to the firewall and it sat at 2grand spluttering for about 20 seconds then hit redline...


anyone know whats going on?

i am going to put a new computer in it with new gearbox computer and cross my fingers. if when i touch the brake it stops ill know its in the brake department

im hoping it was one of the computers which was stopping the gearbox from changing so i dont have to buy a new box but i dont think lady luck is on my side this time

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Joisus Christ! Have you done some looking through your wiring mate? Does that ea have a tow pack on it? Check the trailer harness wiring for rubbing, mate if you have a short somewhere it’s likely that!
Check the earths on the battery and the active feeds also. It does sound like a wiring gremlin. I did hook up a battery to my CFI 4 speed ea 30th anniversary when half the engine loom was not hooked up. Man that thing made some scary noises, buzzing and lights on the dash all lighting up etc. scary stuff!

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yeah i think i might have to. the earth from the block was upgraded to a 4g wire when we had issues with it. it does have a tow pack but we had to change it as the rear lights didnt work so we added a new t piece in the wireing (behind rear left) and added an external plug u throw out the boot and put it back in when done. i think i might have to source a new one and replace it.

i need this sorted as if i can get it running again my parents said i can have it for 200 bucks with the rego left on it. like its not a good looker, it does have dents ect but i can fix those soon enough

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

kewl cheap car is fun.
yes, so those few things you said i would look straight at those mate. especially if you noticed problems arrising as soon as some work was done on the car :)

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

well it wasnt as soon as it was done but i think it may be the cause. brake lights come on and short out. but surely it shouldnt blow the computer

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

you'd be surprised at what will s**t itself when there is a short somewhere.
fix that, then let us know how you go with it. I used to have headlights that would flicker on and off and i couldnt work out what it was that caused it. found out that there was a dirty connection on the thermal cutout there and it was getting very hot because of the resistance from the corrosion and eventually would cut the circuit out untill it would cool and that caused the flickering :D

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 556

Joined: 10th Dec 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EAII Falcon S

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

my old ea had a similar problem with dash lights flickering and the whole car stopping for a second then going again. sometimes (not often) it would flatten a new battery within days if the car wasnt being used.

i took it to an auto electrician and he wasnt interested in finding the fault because it was time consuming and sugested replacing the whole main loom from the ecu back. i probably could have done this myself but being an ex-taxi it had other problems that was going to cost too much to fix so in the end i decided to wreck it for parts. :?

 

_________________

Speed Safely! ;-)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah usually problems with falcons arent the initial ford design its wankers and no nothings stuffing around with aftermarket s**t such as LPG, amps, lights, trailer plugs, in car entertainment, aftermarket fans etc that cause dramas elsewhere if not put in properly.
so imagine the ex taxi's wiring after a zillion kays heh
el birdo nesto

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:00 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I'd suggest getting a multimeter, and checking the voltages on the ECU as someone presses the brakes, and then going from there.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yeah i have a new gearbox on its way as it needs replacing anyways (going an EL one) and a box computer.

im going to remove all the wireing for the trailor plug too to see if it helps. ill recheck the computers that it blew to see if it was just a safety thing where it stopped working (fingers crossed)

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

wouldnt be a good idea if he keeps 'blowing' ecu's everytime he puts the brakes on :? shorted/cut/frayed wires should be pretty easy to spot. could also be the connection inside the plug itself of the trailer wiring.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

im going to remove the whole trailor plug itself. ill be using some CFI computers to test the car as it doesnt matter how many i blow lol.

i knock off work at 4pm tomorrow so ill be checking it all out then.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

tried unplugging the brake switch? (above brake pedal)

if you unplug this switch, then your brake lights won't come on. Then you will know if your fault is in the brake light circuit or not

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i think i got it... i dont have an EA computer to test it with as the others got thrown out. i currently have an EL computer in it so it wont start but when i switch it to on and press the brake the lights dim as battery is almost dead but it didnt blow the computer... all i done was disconect the trailor plug from the loom

oh and it was a factory fitted kit not aftermarket.

so as soon as i get another computer ill be able to test it properly.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:06 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Why wouldn't it start on an EL ECU?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names