Fordmods Logo

LPG + Trip Comp (EF Fairmont) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: LPG + Trip Comp (EF Fairmont)
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:57 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Sep 2005

Location: toowoomba
QLD, Australia

I know this has probably been mentioned before,

Is it possible to get the trip computer (EF Fairmont) to work on gas?

Basically I see the trip computer needs 3 inputs:
1) Fuel in the tank.
2) Speed of the vechile.
3) Amount of fuel being injected.

If you could measure those 3 things I cant see why not (maybe im missing something?)


The new BA Falcons on gas (factory fitted) can do this.
I know its a whole different setup etc etc....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG + Trip Comp (EF Fairmont)
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

leebros wrote:
I know this has probably been mentioned before,

Is it possible to get the trip computer (EF Fairmont) to work on gas?

Basically I see the trip computer needs 3 inputs:
1) Fuel in the tank.
2) Speed of the vechile.
3) Amount of fuel being injected.

If you could measure those 3 things I cant see why not (maybe im missing something?)


The new BA Falcons on gas (factory fitted) can do this.
I know its a whole different setup etc etc....


If its factory gas then the injectors are not operating when on Gas. You can change the setup back to the standard ECU and interrrupt the injector power while on Gas and get it to work but you loose the benifits of the different ignition curves under gas and it won't be as accurate as petrol.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

straight gas the trip computer works
duel fuel its not accurate and mos times doesnt work correctly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

N it doesnt. I have run on DTE reading of 0 for week and a half now (running dual fuel) and it doesnt alter it when I filled up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG + Trip Comp (EF Fairmont)
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 8:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

leebros wrote:
I know this has probably been mentioned before,

Is it possible to get the trip computer (EF Fairmont) to work on gas?

Basically I see the trip computer needs 3 inputs:
1) Fuel in the tank.
2) Speed of the vechile.
3) Amount of fuel being injected.

If you could measure those 3 things I cant see why not (maybe im missing something?)


The new BA Falcons on gas (factory fitted) can do this.
I know its a whole different setup etc etc....

As i have understood it from other posts on this site, the trip computer gets fuel level and speed from the cluster and some injector pulse width signal from the ecu (which is indicative of fuel consumption).

To get the comp working in lpg mode when using the lpg/petrol variant of th ecu, you would need to either reprogram the ecu to send injector pulses and cut them out via a relay OR develope another processor to sit across the data line and send an appropriate pulse width signal to the trip comp when in lpg mode. such a processor would have to measure rpm, intake temp, throttle position and do a simple calc and output a signal to the trip comp.

But who can be bothered doing this :)

cheers, itchione
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG + Trip Comp (EF Fairmont)
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Sep 2005

Location: toowoomba
QLD, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
As i have understood it from other posts on this site, the trip computer gets fuel level and speed from the cluster and some injector pulse width signal from the ecu (which is indicative of fuel consumption).

To get the comp working in lpg mode when using the lpg/petrol variant of th ecu, you would need to either reprogram the ecu to send injector pulses and cut them out via a relay OR develope another processor to sit across the data line and send an appropriate pulse width signal to the trip comp when in lpg mode. such a processor would have to measure rpm, intake temp, throttle position and do a simple calc and output a signal to the trip comp.

But who can be bothered doing this :)

cheers, itchione


Yes thats my understanding for the speed/fuel levels.

As far as i know they install a seperate ECU for the gas.

Does anyone know if the standard EF/EL models that came out on gas work with the trip computer?
To my understanding it is only the new BA model falcons that do this.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:18 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 26

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: XB COUPE

Location: S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Factory gas au's with dual fuel read on gas, the trip computer actually has a little thing that says lpg when its in gas mode, ef el's typically wont display on gas.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:37 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Not aftermarket gas systems at least, you would have to manually calculate the fuel consumption if you really wanted to.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 6:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

AU's were the first model to have trip computer readings for the LPG systems, unless you are straight gas like AU2, will work. before this, trip computer didn't operate on LPG.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Sep 2005

Location: toowoomba
QLD, Australia

camh1980 wrote:
AU's were the first model to have trip computer readings for the LPG systems, unless you are straight gas like AU2, will work. before this, trip computer didn't operate on LPG.


My guess is the AU2 and BA models use "Gas Injection"??

Compared to the older "Vapour" systems (aftermarket).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:26 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 107

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

leebros wrote:
camh1980 wrote:
AU's were the first model to have trip computer readings for the LPG systems, unless you are straight gas like AU2, will work. before this, trip computer didn't operate on LPG.


My guess is the AU2 and BA models use "Gas Injection"??

Compared to the older "Vapour" systems (aftermarket).


No they dont sadly :(

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:03 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Sep 2005

Location: toowoomba
QLD, Australia

He[X]eN wrote:

No they dont sadly :(


So all the "factory gas" cars use the vapour system?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 47

Joined: 25th Jan 2005

Ride: xr8

Location: temora
NSW, Australia

40 post sux

 

_________________

if it dont work the first time your not useing a big enough hammer

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names