Fordmods Logo

Manual ECU for BA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Manual ECU for BA
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

last week we converted a mates BA Xt to a manual, and its at ford at the moment to get the ecu re-programmed so its a manual. cos witht eh auto one, when the auto is dosconnected it kind of goes into limp mode and wint go over 50km/h. but the prob is the computer cant be re-programed to a manual one.
does anybody know how or if the BA's can be tricked so it thinks the auto is there and gets out of this limp mode.

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:33 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 72

Joined: 28th Dec 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I know with previous 4 speed autos it was possible but I am not sure with BA as I think they change the ECU in BA

 

_________________

Factory Specifications are Optional

1988 EA Fairmont Ghia Retired after 11yrs
1999 AU Fairmont Written off :(
2003 BA XR6 Written off :(
2001 AU Falcon - Run around
2005 SY Territory Ghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 1:37 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ECU was changed.. but the princilple should be the same, the ECU should see a temp sensor (resistor based), a neutral switch, and a gear selection sensor(resistor based). So therefore, if you get the wiring diagrams, get a resistor on the temp line, the gear sensor, and bridge the neutral switch, it should still think that the auto is still there.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 3:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Im pretty sure the BA ECU's can be completely re-programmed to be a manual ECU. I read in a tech article in Performance Ford (the Mal Wood tremec conversion, previously automatic, on a BA XR6T) that they had the ECU re-programmed to suit. From memory a Ford dealer did it in about 9 hours! :shock: .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah, I thought the BAs could get flashed aswell... but who knows.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:09 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 96

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: XT Turbo

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

problem solved we just got a custom flash tune done
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:47 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names