Fordmods Logo

Manual ecu's hard to come by? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Manual ecu's hard to come by?
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 577

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL XR6 5spd

Hey all, looking at replacing my ECU, The hacked up auto ecu is good but not as good as it could be, Im also sick of sifting through a dozen transmission errors when looking for some actual information doing diagnostics, like that process aint painful enough.. Anyway Just wondering, Do the EEC-V units from the EL/AU series work in an EF and is there also any other benefits to be had in that regard..

My guess is AU smartlock is going to put this idea to rest, being different to the E series. But I wondered, with AU engines higher compression ratios wether they were capable of more advanced timing. I run lpg on a tad higher comp ratio than normal as it is so just a thaught.

Cheers.

 

_________________

EL XR6 5spd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 564

Joined: 16th Apr 2006

Ride: EBII

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I've been told by a mechanic that EF falcons must run EF computers, as they run coil packs.........please correct this if I am wrong, but it's what I was told.........as I own an EB, and never really intend on swapping my ecu/buying an EF, I've never really looked into it.

 

_________________

Back in an E series!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 577

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL XR6 5spd

well that leaves the EL out but Au's also run coilpacks

 

_________________

EL XR6 5spd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 564

Joined: 16th Apr 2006

Ride: EBII

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I'd rather not guess here, but that mechanic never mentioned au-ef compatability, guessing that they are not interchangeable.........thats an educated guess :P

 

_________________

Back in an E series!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Something that might scare you off. I sold my EF XR6 manual ECU for $470 only a month ago...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:44 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 302

Joined: 1st Jan 2007

Power: 158 rwkw

They are hard to get! When i thought mine was shagged i rang injectronics at dandy and they said they would need mine to rebuild cause they have not been able to get one to keep on shelf to do changeover with!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 577

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL XR6 5spd

470 ey? that aint small

 

_________________

EL XR6 5spd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:36 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

AU1 ECU should be fine :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:19 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Waggin u say AU1 ecu "SHOULD" be fine is that with the std AU1 smartlock or the EF smartlock "PART" (dont quote my terminology... not really electronically minded) soldered into the AU ecu....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 1880

Joined: 22nd Apr 2005

Ride: ED Futura

Location: Seymour
VIC, Australia

AU1 has smartlock - AU2-3 has smartshield
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

RedRoo wrote:
AU1 has smartlock - AU2-3 has smartshield
Can this be confirmed as there is opinion that SmartShield came prior to AU2, AU1 update's are supposed to have smartshield. I am sweating on if all AU Series 1 ECU's work with smartlock and the update ones work with both. Anyone able to add substantiated evidence either way?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 1880

Joined: 22nd Apr 2005

Ride: ED Futura

Location: Seymour
VIC, Australia

Well I got my info from this site from a number of threads, with a number of members who should know stating the information.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

twason u recently aquired a manual AU1 ecu did u not... have u not tried anythin yet... u just tryin to figure out whether or not it will work.... im gettin ready in the next week or so to do my conversion and am goin to do the resistor trick... if the AU1 ecu works ill be stoked

also another query i have is about a flash tuning chip from CAPA

www.CAPA.com.au/ford_flash_tuner_chip.pdf

upon viewing this pdf note the word "overrides".... now hypothetically if i purchased one of these chips and piggybacked it onto my ecu (a manual chip that is) it would "override" the auto signal and replace it with a manual signal... or would this not work as it would be "piggybacked" into the system after the ecu and not before it.... if u know what i mean..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:18 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

oh by the way what is the catch code for a AU1 ecu
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

EFairmanual2088 wrote:
twason u recently aquired a manual AU1 ecu did u not... have u not tried anythin yet... u just tryin to figure out whether or not it will work.... im gettin ready in the next week or so to do my conversion and am goin to do the resistor trick... if the AU1 ecu works ill be stoked

also another query i have is about a flash tuning chip from CAPA

www.CAPA.com.au/ford_flash_tuner_chip.pdf

upon viewing this pdf note the word "overrides".... now hypothetically if i purchased one of these chips and piggybacked it onto my ecu (a manual chip that is) it would "override" the auto signal and replace it with a manual signal... or would this not work as it would be "piggybacked" into the system after the ecu and not before it.... if u know what i mean..
Yes got the ECU but don't want to proceed until I can get confirmation on the smartlock/smartshield issue. I am keeping an eye out for a smartshield BCM incase I need one. Apart from that its just a bit of wire swapping. The other question is are the wires to the injectors in an EF wired sequential, it appears that the engine loom is but the ECU to engine wiring may be batch wired.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Last edited by twase on Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names