Fordmods Logo

Megasquirt tune 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:09 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 21st Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah, probably a good idea.

Was that duty cycle with acceleration enrichment?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:05 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

I'm pretty sure the enrichment wasn't a factor anymore if i understand the settings right. I floored it from near idle and it took about 9 seconds to reach the 4400rpm so the enrichment should have been over with.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:48 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

Can i just check with yas that for the ignition the brown wire from the TFi is the PIP signal and the yellow/green one is the spout ?
I can't get it to run the ignition.. with just the ignition input wire hooked to the pip line it tries to start and will sometimes idle for 2 or 3 seconds then die... if i hook the spout one up (i've checked im using the right blue.white wire form pin 24) it will do nothing except make a constant clicking noise which i think is coming from the coil.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 21st Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

You can leave spout disconnected and the TFI module will default to base timing.

Have you changed the fuel pump relay across to the MS?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

weeman wrote:
Have you changed the fuel pump relay across to the MS?


This in pin 37 on MS?
connects to pin22 on car ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:32 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 21st Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yes. The stock ECU won't run the fuel pump if it doesn't get the PIP signal.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

Ah i see. I still have the stock ECU running the fuel pump so looks like i will have to go change that over.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:49 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jul 2007

Ride: XG

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Hi viper
just curious is your car manual or auto?

i am looking at building a megasquirt real soon , i just finished building my jim stim
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

Its a manual.
Everything is running quite nicely now, fuel and spark. Although without a dyno around here tuning the spark can be a pain as there isn't a real figure to aim for like there is with fuel mix. I think i'm pinging a bit in the mid range full throttle area.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names