Fordmods Logo

new oxy senser now my fuel consumption is worse 23.4l/100km! 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 43 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: new oxy senser now my fuel consumption is worse 23.4l/100km!
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

ok 1st about my car
EF II xr6
2.5" exaust with pacemakers (4499)
k&n with SS inductions cold air intake
other than that pretty much standard

i normally get abou 17-18l/100km arround town shocking i know.
so i replace dteh oxy sensor witha brand new one of ebay universial ford 3 wire fittied stight in and had correct plug on it.
but my trip computer was reset but now im adveraging 23.4l/100km prolly done 10km only so far.

i deffinily tightened it up could it not be sitting right? or loose conection in connector?

do i need to give it tiem for my computer to adjust?????

2morrow im taking the k&n out and give it a clean (with the cleaning kit at work)

i alos have new spark plugs form ebay they are some tripple electrode ones but they are KLG brand are they any good?

any other ideas i have approval to start work on the car as long as consumptions stays no more than 18l/100km grrrrrr


oh just for an idea with cruise on going dwon amajor strret at 60km in 4th i was using as high as 14l/100km but generlly over 10


my idle is also a bit ifffy and jumps a bit maybe buy arround 100-200rpm at idle.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Run diagnostics and see what the ECU has to say about it.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 696

Joined: 15th May 2006

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ba

Location: Boronia
VIC, Australia

yer mines crap to but mines a V8 but still any 1 out there got any advise

 

_________________

Ba Stock As A Rock

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 535

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Ride: EF wagon & EF fairmont wagon & M

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

yes definitely will take time to recalibrate. I would not trust new from ebay??? I got mine from a parts store and although it cost $80 it works great and a huge economy improvement
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 681

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII Ghia

i replaced mine and my fuel econ went from 22 to 16 but i do alot of short drives to work then home so the car doesnt get time to get out of warm up mode.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

itr was new and fully sealed. from sun diseals i think his name was he sells heaps of them. my old one had a fair bit of carbon in it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:52 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

it would take at least 100km before u get a true average of ur economy. u might also want to reset the ECU so it can relearn but i dont think its necessary. but yeah once u drove 100km and ur fuel eco is still 22L/100km then i think ur old oxy sensor wasnt broken.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:59 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 53

Joined: 28th Dec 2004

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

You think that's bad I'm running on LPG on my series 2 EL XR8 opt 20, filled up today after doing 150 km of city driving and worked out that I had used 39 litres/100 :shock: . and no that's not a misprint. anyone have any advice to offer. Would desperately like to work out what is causing my high fuel consumption.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh, dont judge your fuel economy after 10km's..

reset it all take it to the limiter first drive and see how long it takes to come back down

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 140

Joined: 12th May 2006

Gallery: 17 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Agree, 10km isn't enough to get all back on track. Give it a while and you should see it come down.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 9:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Location: Cannington
WA, Australia

thats ok... i've got an EFI 351W in an ex-ambo.... gets 30L/100km most of the time... and pings it's ring off unless it's on 98RON....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Should the computer be reset?

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:17 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Andrew J wrote:
Should the computer be reset?


surely wouldnt hurt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

would a leaking brakebooster effect my vacume and hense my fuel usage.

and yes i can see were the brake fluid has been leaking and eaten the paint ouch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 50

Joined: 2nd Jul 2006

Ride: Hiace Van

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I have the exact same problem Ive changed the same gear as above now I get 300K to a 75L tank in an auto V8 ute where is the problem comming from.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names