Fordmods Logo

No idle with XR6 ECU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: No idle with XR6 ECU
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 6:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 241

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: EF GLi 5-spd & BA 'mont

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

Ive just tried puting and manual EF XR6 ECU in my manual EF GLi, the car starts fine, but stalls once the engine has cranked. If i hold the throttle down a bit as soon as it starts, it run perfectly. It just wont idle. The XR ECU was working fine in the car it came out of. I replaced the GLi ECU and it idles fine, back to normal. Does anyone know wot the problem is, or how i can fix it?

 

_________________

Sig pic removed, refer to http://www.fordmods.com/forums/signatur ... 29751.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

I'd start by bumping up the base idle.

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:30 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 241

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: EF GLi 5-spd & BA 'mont

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

I thought the idle wasn't adjustable, isnt controlled by the ECU anyway?

 

_________________

Sig pic removed, refer to http://www.fordmods.com/forums/signatur ... 29751.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:42 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Possibly the ISC driver in the ECU is blown.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

The base idle is definatly adjustable.

My car doesn't have the ISC connected at all, and is purely a manual idle (ie no ECU intervension, besides fuel and spark)

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:36 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Waggin wrote:
Possibly the ISC driver in the ECU is blown.


Agreed... If I remember correctly, its a fairly common fault. Or at least certainly not the first time I've heard of the ISC driver failing in EF ECU's.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 241

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: EF GLi 5-spd & BA 'mont

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

i spoke to a mechanic i know who specializes in ecus and efi systems, he seemed to think that the XR6 have a different wiring loom, and hence some of the pins on the ecu connectors are different and thats where the problem lies. He wasnt certain but he thought that was the case.

Has anyone else had a similar problem fitting and XR6 ecu?

 

_________________

Sig pic removed, refer to http://www.fordmods.com/forums/signatur ... 29751.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:04 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

EF ECU's will all plug in! no differences in looms Gli/Futura/XR/Mont/Ghia (in regards to ECU pinouts anyways!)

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 241

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: EF GLi 5-spd & BA 'mont

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

Well that saves me hunting through great masses of wiring tring to match colours :) I'll have to see if i can get it to run by just winding out the butterfly stop screw, i just hope i won't have to have a stupidly high idleto stop it from stalling.

 

_________________

Sig pic removed, refer to http://www.fordmods.com/forums/signatur ... 29751.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Try an XR6 or other upgraded camshaft? Since that is what the ecu has been designed for

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:43 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 96

Joined: 1st Apr 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I think there is a throttle stop adjustment screw that you can use to bump up the base idle.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:12 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 241

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: EF GLi 5-spd & BA 'mont

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

yea, thats how im running it atm (idles at about 850)

 

_________________

Sig pic removed, refer to http://www.fordmods.com/forums/signatur ... 29751.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names