Fordmods Logo

No voltage at fuel pump 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: No voltage at fuel pump
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 9:10 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok, here’s the story – I have bought a rolled ef and transferred the whole interior, motor, gearbox and loom into my ea. At the end of two long hard weeks the bastard won’t start. I cannot hear the pump in the boot and there is no voltage – I’ve checked the relay and plugs but still no play – what have I missed????????

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 9:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Checked all your fuses?

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 9:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yess and double checked

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 9:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

did you install the EF BEM? aka dash looms?
if so, it might be partially imobilized.
what about the fuses in the engine bay? if main goes... the car cranks but no ignition.

have you checked the relays under the recovery bottle?

and thats all i can think of atm...

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

When I did the transfer I changed the complete loom & Dash - The BEM is the blue box on the drivers left knee??? if it is imobilized how do i free it?

Checked all fuses including the 100amp - will check again. I actually changed the relays under the recovery bottle.

Really stumped - all other things work including dash and trip computer. need to fix as I'm having to rack the ks on my fairmont instead of the crapy ea!!!

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

well....
does your smart lock light flash quickly?

try to reset the BEM,
leave the car with the ignition ON for 45mins until the Smart lock light stays on steady OR untill the door locks cycle,

When steady Crank the car... do not turn off and then try to start.... this is the learning sequence.
give that ago

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I will try to reset the smart lock - I do hear the relay clicking as the ign is turned on.

also ran a meter over the fuses - all ok

Thanks for the help

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Trace the wiring back to the plug you disconnected and forgot to plug back in? :D

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:22 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Earth the top right pin of the diagnosis connector and turn IGN on - the pump should run continuously without the engine running. If no noise, check for 12v again at the fuel pump plug. If 12v is not present, assuming the fuel pump relay is okay as mentioned, check for 12v at any of the following - ISC solenoid, or any injector plug (check each wire to earth on the car body).
If 12v is still not present, check out the ECU relay sitting right next to the fuel pump relay.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

BIG Thanks to those who have helped so far.

I have tried to reset the BEM - smartlock light still as was before (same as my Fairmont - should have checked sooner)

Pump ran when top right pin of diagnosis connector earthed. 12v at injectors and ISC.

Changed relays for old EA relays and still no change

Any other ideas would be appreciated.

I would post pics but being new to this sort of stuff I don't know

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 6:19 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Another dumb question - if I have checked and rechecked all connections and know the pump works and cannot hear the injectors while turning over is it possible that the ecu is fried????

Is there an easy way to check before I chase down another ecu?

Thanks in advance

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

check you have the BCM wired to the ECU properly. Then check the brown/green wire from the ecu, this is the earth wire for the relay. (should go to earth when key is first turned on) Also check you are getting 12v to the relay. Under the coolant bottle are 2 relays, a brown based and green based one. green is fuel fump and brown is EFI 12v

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks for the help, but after much frustration I changed the ecu today the thermo fans and pump ran. It then started in a large cloud of smoke (donor car was rolled)

The guy I bought the car off must have spiked the ecu and fried it. Still the car cost me less than new oils, filters, hoses etc. So I am on a winner.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:15 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names