Fordmods Logo

Pop's E.D. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Pop's E.D.
Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 12:45 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 123

Joined: 22nd Jul 2009

Ride: Falcon ED

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

Hey there Groovers,
OK heres the deal. I've got this ED right, and I destroyed the motor.
It was multipoint with smart lock and stuff, and I had this CFI EA out the back and figured I'd simply change a few things around and it would be cool. Anyway, it didnt work out that way and the whole things a complete mess of wires now. Splicing the two harnesses together has complicated things out of control.
So I was thinking, I'm down to the last few wires and really cant decide where thy should go. I reckong they are the idle speed control and throttle position sensor wires. Is it really that important where they connect to, as in, is it a big deal to muck around and try things or will it destroy more components.
Thank you.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Pop's E.D.
Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 553

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Ride: Peacock EB Falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You know, it would have just been a case of swapping manifolds and wiring harnesses.

 

_________________

Wanted, CFI manifold

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Pop's E.D.
Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:08 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yes it would have been easier to have fitted the mpfi manifold,dizzy to the cfi engine..
there would have been no need to do any wiring..

there are other issues you might have?
is the ed auto or manual?
afaik if its auto you will need the cfi ecu to get the engine to run.. but the ea cfi has a seperate auto computer.
where the ed ecu has the auto part built into the ed ecu..

so if you fit the cfi ecu to the ed the auto wont function correctly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Pop's E.D.
Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 123

Joined: 22nd Jul 2009

Ride: Falcon ED

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

It seemed like a roundabout way of doing things... and there were a few other small issues. Basically I thought it was the smart lock system holding the show up, and wanted a complete stand alone system bypassing the immobiliser.
Anyway, now I have only about 5 wires left and wonder if it will damage things if I experiment a bit...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Pop's E.D.
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:25 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 50

Joined: 18th Jan 2005

Location: South West
WA, Australia

Theres only one way to find out :twisted: :twisted:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names